City of Shadows: Unsuccessful resolution?

By Grimwalker, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

If my opponent controls multiple Shadow characters and I win an intrigue, may I choose a standing character for Kingdom of Shadows' passive effect or must I choose a character that is able to successfully fulfill the effect?

Edited by Grimwalker

3.6 only applies to triggered effects. So Kingdom of Shadows' passive is not concerned. You can choose any card with a shadow crest, kneeling or standing.

One way to remember this is that 3.6 places restrictions on whether an effect can be initiated or not. A passive effect is going to initiate anyway, so 3.6 doesn't apply.