8.3.3.4 vs 8.3.3.5 W(w)hen you are taking damage

By Smazzurco, in UFS Rules Q & A

These both reference a seperate step correct?

So the only difference is wether or not the phrase is capitalized, which must mean 8.3.3.4 is when the conditional is at the end of a sentance while 8.3.3.5 must be for when the conditional starts the sentance?

As well as i can remember (not well) all R's with that trigger are worderd R: When you are taking damage, do something or R: When a player is taking damage, do something.

Can soemone give me an example of a card playable in 8.3.3.4

Holding Ground is 8.3.3.5 as is cutting edge, correct?

I think they're both referring to the same thing, Holding Ground and Cutting Edge would live in 8.3.3.4 as well as 8.3.3.5 . I think 8334 is a direct copypaste from the old TR, while 8335 is a new section, and the redundancy was missed/ignored.

8.3.3.4 & 8.3.3.5 are both newly written for the AGR. The capitalization may be something I screwed up on while writing it, because I did not write every line of the AGR sequentially. Alternatively it may have been noted by the editing team of FFG.

Either way... the purpose of 8.3.3.4 is to indicate that any cards that take effect "When dealing damage/when dealing damage/etc." take place here. It also signals to actually "Calculate the amount of damage pending", which gives holding ground as it's currently worded an actual opportunity to function, and return an attack at 0 damage back to printed.

The purpose of 8.3.3.5 is to eliminate the timing that "First you holding ground, then you cutting edge/broken body part", and to bring the game back to what was originally intended, damage adjusters are played back and forth by attacker and defender until both players are done.

Antigoth said:

8.3.3.4 & 8.3.3.5 are both newly written for the AGR. The capitalization may be something I screwed up on while writing it, because I did not write every line of the AGR sequentially. Alternatively it may have been noted by the editing team of FFG.

Either way... the purpose of 8.3.3.4 is to indicate that any cards that take effect "When dealing damage/when dealing damage/etc." take place here. It also signals to actually "Calculate the amount of damage pending", which gives holding ground as it's currently worded an actual opportunity to function, and return an attack at 0 damage back to printed.

The purpose of 8.3.3.5 is to eliminate the timing that "First you holding ground, then you cutting edge/broken body part", and to bring the game back to what was originally intended, damage adjusters are played back and forth by attacker and defender until both players are done.

Sorry man but i reread that a few times and am completely confused. So Holding ground can only be played during 8.3.3.4?

Can you give a few examples of abilities playable in 8.3.3.4 but not 8.3.3.5

And some playabile in 8.3.3.5 but not in 8.3.3.4?

And some playable in both?

I went back and looked again and to me it seems like they both reference the same trigger.

As i understood it previously, holding ground can respond any time a player plays a " R: When you(a player) is taking damage" ability, because then you are still in that trigger. However if a player with holding gruond in play passed on that trigger, and their opponent also did, then play moves on.

Thanks

I'll try and restate it again.

The purpose of 8.3.3.4 is to allow cards like holding ground to be able to affect 0 damage attack.

the purpose of 8.3.3.5 is to allow cards like holding ground to be played back and forth with cards like broken arm, etc.

8.3.3.5 could also be labled 8.3.3.4.1

correct me if still misunderstanding...

the purpose of 8.3.3.4 is to "lock in" the attacks damage

8.3.3.5 lets "the amount of damage taken" get reduced (but not the actual damage of the attack)?

even close or do i just not get it

Smazzurco said:

correct me if still misunderstanding...

the purpose of 8.3.3.4 is to "lock in" the attacks damage

8.3.3.5 lets "the amount of damage taken" get reduced (but not the actual damage of the attack)?

even close or do i just not get it

Prior to the AGR, it was ruled that based on wording, you holding grounded first, then Broken Whatever/Cutting Edge second, and there were a few other cards where people felt that one had to go before the other.

8.3.3.5 erases all of that. It brings the game back to where the designers intended it, that damage adjusting abilities can be played interchangeable just like other E's and R's.

So in a high-level sense, what you have stated in my quote above is roughly the purpose behind 8.3.3.5 and 8.3.3.4
Again, it may be better on the next revision to have 8.3.3.5 be numbered 8.3.3.4.1 and clean up the sequencing accordingly.