Terror Track and Devoured questions.

By Mord2, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

Hey there. I have been trying to pin down the answers to a couple questions that I just can't seem to find a clarification for. I have spent a couple hours, over two days, trying to find them here but can't seem to. There's no search bar that I can find and sifting through everything gets tiring, not to mention I get side-tracked by other topics. So, any way, here are my questions.

What makes the Terror Track go up? Are there specific situations besides just stuff that is listed on cards? I can't find anything in the rules saying what exactly makes it rise—only a table that gives effects for when it hits certain levels.

Exactly when is a character devoured? The rules state that if an investiagtor is reduced to 0 Stamina and 0 Sanity at the same time the investigator is devoured.

Then they say if the investigator's maximum Sanity OR maximum Stamina is reduced to 0 he is devoured. Yet in the other rules it says anytime one of these happens while in Arkham the character is sent to the Asylumn or Hospital. And if any of those happens while he is in the Other Worlds he is placed in Lost in Time and Space.

So, what exactly are the circumstances for a charcter being devoured?

Any help would be appreciated.

Mord.

Edited by Mord

Hey there,

and welcome to the Carnival!

So, for your questions: am I correct by assuming that you play with the core set and no expansions in, right? Situations where you are devoured or incredibly high terror boosts with the core game only are not that common. With order:

1. Terror

In core game, Terror can raise basically due to two different effects:

a) too many monsters in the Outskirts. According to the number of investigators you play, the maximum allowance for monsters in the Outskirts varies. As soon as this limit is passed, the Outskirts are emptied and Terror raises by +1

b) card effects, often Mythos card effects

So, I agree, it's not much of a threat when playing core Arkham. There are effects coming with expansions that can be lethal to Terror: some AO abilities, or the vortices dynamics in Dunwich or Innsmouth.

2. Being devoured

Again, not many occasions in core game. You're generally devoured when:

a) your max San or max Sta are reduced to 0 (example: this could happen during final battle against Cthulhu)

b) your current San and Sta are reduced to 0 at the same time (example: an investigator with 1 San and 1 Sta uses an Elder Sign to seal a gate he just returned to; the Elder Sign triggers a -1 San and a -1 Sta, hence you go to 0 and 0 and you are devoured)

c) you are sent Lost in Time and Space and the AO is Yog-Sothoth

d) other effect during Final Battle (example: as soon as you run out of clue tokens when battling Nyarlathotep)

e) failing some checks during specific encounters (some OWs encounters - very few, fortunately - could result in a devouring)

f) also some encounters or stuff you can do in Arkham can result in a devouring: failing all checks for Blood Magic , for example

g) when you start adding expansions, some other things could happen. For instance, failing an Evade check or a Combat check against a monster called Servitor of the Outer Gods

You can find a complete list of effects resulting in an investigator being devoured here

Hope this helps!

JULIA

Yep, I am only playing the core game at the moment (sorry, should've stated that). I am doing a solitaire run-through using four investigators, to get a feel for the rules.

Thanks for the reply. I think I've got it down now. Theses effects are gonna come from cards drawn, rules on monster counters, or during the AO battle. The only non-card effect is the outskirts filling up.

Mord.

Edited by Mord

Yes, exactly, the only non-card effect triggering terror is the Outskirts filling up. Good you have this down :) If you have further questions, just ask, there's always someone watching over this forum :)

The one thing about the Outskirts that's a bit tricky is what to place back in the cup when it goes over the limit. I do believe, according the FAQ that you count out each monster to add one at a time, and once it goes over the limit, you remove both monsters that make up the limit PLUS the one that caused it to go over, then start adding monsters again to the Outskirts, one at a time. We went back and forth over this for awhile, but it's pretty clearly spelled out in the FAQ:

"The monster limit is equal to the number of players
plus three. If adding a monster to the board would bring
the number of monsters above the monster limit, the
monster is placed in the Outskirts area instead. When the
Outskirts become too full, the terror level is increased by
1 and all the monsters in the Outskirts are returned to the
monster cup. The maximum number of monsters that may
be in the Outskirts without raising the terror level is 8
minus the number of players, as listed in the chart on page
18 of the rulebook.
Example: In a 3-player game, the monster limit is 6 and
the maximum number of monsters in the Outskirts is
5. There are 3 open gates on the board, 6 monsters in
Arkham, and 4 monsters in the Outskirts. During the
Mythos Phase, you draw a location that already has
an open gate, so you have to draw 3 more monsters.
You would first draw 2 monsters and place them in the
Outskirts. The Outskirts limit would be exceeded upon
placing the second monster, so you would then increase
the terror level by 1 and return the six monsters in the
Outskirts to the cup. Finally, you would draw the third
monster and place it in the Outskirts."
Edited by Wolfpack48

Yes, you're reading correctly the rules. You need to bypass the limit to trigger terror

Thanks again, for the answers.

I am sure I'll have more questions, soon.

Mord.

also, there is a search bar at the top of the page, like the tippy toppy most uppity part of the page. It is a small bar, but there it is!