Two Questions, one old and dumb

By Wafflecopter2, in UFS Rules Q & A

The old and dumb one first: Camellias

With this card... why would you ever activate the R ability? Unless you wanted the copies discarded. It doesn't say "playable by your opponent" or anything.

The newer, less-dumb one... Slim and Athletic sez, in brief, "After a player gets momentum, they discard it instead." If an Ira-Spinta E is played and the momentum is discarded this way ( instead of being added to momentum) would this make the ability fizzle because the costs were not payed?

That R should probably be a static. Although if it was an R playable by your opponent you could at least negate it, making it slightly more playable.

Then again why would you run that card anyways...lol

On slim and athletic, your wording makes it seem like they can still pay the cost, because you said "after a player GETS momentum" implying they got it.

The actual wording is "any time a card WOULD be added to momentum, it is discarded instead" meaning the cost cannot be paid. Sort of like mortal strike, calming the mind, etc.

It depends on your opponents deck and if you had momentum to burn (most likely off of water). You could bait with it to have your opponent commit some foundations and follow up with the next card you actually only wanted to play at +1 difficulty. Although, the act of even announcing such a response would probably make them wise to your ways. I agree, it should have been a continuous ability, not a response.

Add this card to the list of cards that should see functional errata. There should be a "Your opponent may play this ability".

and Stamp for Smazzy

Well, I found a copy of S&A (on THD lol), here's the proper, complete wording...

"E Commit: Until the beginning of your next turn, if a player has more momentum than their opponent, any time a card would be added to that player's momentum it is discarded instead."

It doesn't wait until after the momentum has been added, it intercepts it before it ever hits the mass*velocity pile.

Wafflecopter said:

Well, I found a copy of S&A (on THD lol), here's the proper, complete wording...

"E Commit: Until the beginning of your next turn, if a player has more momentum than their opponent, any time a card would be added to that player's momentum it is discarded instead."

It doesn't wait until after the momentum has been added, it intercepts it before it ever hits the mass*velocity pile.

hence the reason for the stamp :)

i was simply stating, if it was wording, AFTER your opponent GETS momentum...then it would still satisfy the cost.

Now you have to post a decklist using that attack though :P

OH! I misread your post (about 5 times lol). I thought you said, "If the wording was this, then it would work" not, "the actual wording IS this, and it works"

Sowwy :P

Actually, someone needs to delete this thread (please Antigoth? :) ), before more people realize that both Chaos and Evil (two fairly good symbols no?) have access to a 2/5 +1M Mortal Strike. It's noice, although it doesn't quite stop Defender loop.

Slim and Athletic is fragile, and doesn't work all that well. I tried it already, calming the mind is 100% better.

Ispin normally triggers it's E before S&A does.

Camelias needs additional functional errata to deal with its timing.

The R currently triggers "After you play the multiple ability of this card." Then if additional costs are paid, multiple copies are discarded.

Except that "After you play the multiple ability" (or "After this card's multiple ability is played," or whatever it becomes) means after momentum are discarded, before they are added to the card pool.

So at the time the R would trigger, there are NO multiple copies in the card pool to discard. So the R does nothing.

The new version should probably trigger, "After this cards multiple copies are added to the card pool,"

It would be far simpler to just give it the continuous ability:

"After you add a multiple of this attack to your card pool, your opponent may commit one foundation to discard it. They may do this for each multiple copy you add to your card pool."

aslum said:

It would be far simpler to just give it the continuous ability:

"After you add a multiple of this attack to your card pool, your opponent may commit one foundation to discard it. They may do this for each multiple copy you add to your card pool."

Awesome suggestion - Noted.

Wafflecopter said:

The old and dumb one first: Camellias

With this card... why would you ever activate the R ability? Unless you wanted the copies discarded. It doesn't say "playable by your opponent" or anything.

All I got to say is why doesn't this card have 5 point!? This card would be sweet with some of the new cards... lol...

Camellias, Multiple 2, R Ability, Midnight Launcher, Knight Breaker... WIN!

And that's off two symbols too! :)