Woodlands Expansion + Luna from City Expansion

By HarleyWarren, in Talisman Rules Questions

My friends and I were playing the new Woodlands expansion this weekend and I happened to pick up Luna, the pet follower from the City expansion. As a reminder, Luna reads:

"Whenever you pay a fate to reroll a die, you choose which result on the die to use instead of rolling it."

Does this mean that if I have Luna and I use a Dark Fate to force another player to re-roll a die that I get to choose the result?

To avoid terrorizing all the other players in my game, I self-ruled that I could use Luna only for my own re-rolls, but a plain interpretation of the card seems to allow Luna to select the outcome. In fact, one player thought it should work this way. Ouch. Then every Grim Reaper encounter when Luna has a Dark Fate would force the use of light fate or that player risks instant death. Same with the Witch. What do you think, is Luna too overpowered when used like this with the Woodlands?

I have to say that I love the new expansion. We had all the corner expansions in play and it really mixes things up and adds a lot of variation.

Edited by HarleyWarren

Ouch! another OP card from the City, made OP now because of the Woodland. I think officially it can change light or dark fate. The issue now is to house rule it or pull it out!

I've noticed this possibility as well. Luna's text looks perfectly applicable to the use of dark fate, but of course it would make the game a great pain for everyone else, especially if the owner has a Dark Destiny too.

A good contender for a FAQ.

If player A has Luna and he pays a dark fate to force player B to reroll his die, then player A cannot use the ability of Luna to choose the result as player B is rolling the die.

As per page 8 of the Woodland Rulebook:

The player who just made a roll has the option to spend light fate to reroll his own die before another player can spend dark fate to force him to reroll his die.

Edited by talismanamsilat

"Whenever you pay a fate to reroll a die, you choose which result on the die to use instead of rolling it."

I don't see the implication of "you" rolling the die. Only "you" who pays fate.

It might be a way to get around the effect and I surely recommend to play as Elliott suggests, but the nuance is too little to be self-evident to everybody.

It still requires a FAQ entry.

Please see my above post.

Edited by talismanamsilat

I agree with Elliott. Although it may be possible to interpret the wording on this one particular card as applying to both light or dark fate, there are countless other cards released in the past seven years that refer to paying fate (i.e. light fate). It might be simplest to say, "If an effect triggers when you spend fate, the effect applies only to light fate unless otherwise specified." But we can't know without a FAQ... I'm curious to see if others are in agreement with my suggestion.

if you pay a dark fate, it wouldn't be instead of rolling the die as it's not you doing it.

Actually the way Dark Fate is worded in the Woodlands rules, the person spending the fate rolls the die, so Luna would work with it.

I don't have the rules in front of me (my friend owns the game), but we ran into this exact issue and looked it up and realized with horror that Luna was going to make the Reaper one-shot everyone.

Now if you house-ruled Luna (and similar effects) to not work with Dark Fate, I doubt anyone would fault you, but as written they do.

Edit: Actually rereading the rules makes it look like we were, thankfully, wrong.

"A player may only spend dark fate to reroll a die that another character just rolled."
This made us think that the Dark Fate spender rolled, however...
"The player who just made a roll has the option to spend light fate to reroll his own die before another player can spend dark fate to force him to reroll his die."
This line says that the player still rolls their own die, so Luna and other similar effects would not actually work.
So there is some sanity left in the world.
Edited by ShivaX

Shiva you are correct, due to the way dark fate is worded in the Woodland Rulebook!

Edited by talismanamsilat

How interesting lucky pets are random upon buying :) .

In my opinion, Luna was always OP. I'd say that, even though it is not one personally that rolls the dice again when paying dark fate, that one would still be able to to choose the result with Luna, or the Twist of Fate spell, as one still did spend a fate to reroll a die. It's just that in the past one would always be the one to reroll the die as a result of spending fate. Regardless, I do think that Luna should only activate on the expenditure of light fate, though I think the Twist of Fate spell should work with dark fate, as it is still spent and discarded when cast, so it would be balanced, I think.

I will be removing Luna from my game.

Random pets remember!

OP random pets. :o :blink:

Guys you don't pick your pets? I mean "please settle down" :) .

I think that if Luna would've been created for a later expansion it would be worded otherwise i.e. 'your roll' or 'spend a light fate'.

I think we'll find more cards becoming unclear with the new fate mechanics.

I think that if Luna would've been created for a later expansion it would be worded otherwise i.e. 'your roll' or 'spend a light fate'.

I think we'll find more cards becoming unclear with the new fate mechanics.

Maybe, maybe not need a faq on it to change it.

"Whenever you pay a fate to reroll a die, you choose which result on the die to use instead of rolling it."I don't see the implication of "you" rolling the die. Only "you" who pays fate.

I think it's quite clear without a faq. If you read the second sentence the 'rolling it' refers back to 'you'. And if 'you' have to choose instead of rolling it must be your roll from the start. Correct?