gypsy and counterspell

By damzow, in Talisman Rules Questions

last night we had a huge argument about the gypsy special ability while casting the counterspell.

the gypsy ability - "Whenever another character places a Spell on the discard pile, you may take it and add it to your own Spells, if your Craft allows."

the counterspell - "Cast as required. Negate the effects of any Spell just cast, including the Command Spell."

the scenario - someone attacks player A. before the one who attacked rolls his dice player A cast "misfortune". player B (the gypsy) casts couterspell and then wants to take the misfortune after it was cast and countered. and then all hell broke loose.

there were a few arguments against the gypsy but i dont remember them.

can the gypsy take the spell she just countered?

Yes i believe so as far as i can remember it says "When any other character places a spell in the discard pile" so when it goes she has the choice to take it only if she can "craft res". Her counterspell she cannot take because she cast it.

the debate was on the spell that was countered. i asked the players that thought the gypsy cant take it to add their opinion here... i think like you, that the gypsy can take a spell she counters.

Yeah it seems to make sense for the Gypsy to take Misfortune.

The opponent places Misfortune in the discard pile once it is countered, so...don't really see the confusion.

When a spell is cast it is also resolved and placed on the discard pile, right?

I see a problem with the order you mentioned. If someone cast misfortune (and places it on the discard pile) and someone cast counterspell (and places it on the discard pile) the misfortune is no longer the last spell cast and cannot be taken by the gypsy.
The gypsy could however take it in between and then someone could cast counterspell.

If the time between the first spell (misfortune) and second spell (counterspell) was too short for the gypsy to have a reasonable chance to react I'd still vote for allowing it though.. good spirit

Edited by Nioreh

If the time between the first spell (misfortune) and second spell (counterspell) was too short for the gypsy to have a reasonable chance to react I'd still vote for allowing it though.. good spirit

the gypsy was the one to cast the counterspell. but it still dosent matter, the two spells are not actually placed at the same time in the discard pile.. one of them have to be placed first and then the gypsy can take it. no?

Yes, the Gypsy can take the Spell as soon as it hits the discard pile. No matter what happens before, later or in between. There will be a moment when the Spell hits the discard pile and can be taken by the Gypsy, if her Craft allows.

There has been a discussion for priorities concerning Spell Call used to take a Spell after it had been negated by Counterspell. That situation was tricky because Spell Call can be used to take a Spell just cast, and if a Counterspell comes in between the first Spell cannot be targeted by Spell Call anymore.

This has nothing to do with the Gypsy, whose ability is cooler and simpler to handle than Spell Call.

Hm, I read up on the actual wording on the Gypsy character and stand corrected, if was the Spell Call wording that i had in mind when I wrote the previous post.

I see no problem with using her ability even if counterspell has been cast in between.