I've kind of got most of my answer but I wanted to double check with you guys. Can you boost into another ship, or Barrel Roll, or uncloak into them? I don't know why you would most times but it came up the other day. I read in another post that you can't barrel roll onto and asteroid, so I figured it was the same.
thanks for you time
Question about actions (Boost, Barrel Roll, Un-Cloaking)
No you cannot. Before barrel rolling boosting or decloaking, you must declare which specific direction you're going in (yes, for Echo this means you need to declare which of the SIX directions you'll be going in). If you cannot in any way execute that action or decloak you can either choose a different direction or choose another action or to not decloak entirely.
Also, you can indeed boost, barrel roll, or decloak off the board and lose your ship. So watch out for that.
You cannot overlap with a boost, barrel roll, or decloak.
No you cannot. Before barrel rolling boosting or decloaking, you must declare which specific direction you're going in (yes, for Echo this means you need to declare which of the SIX directions you'll be going in). If you cannot in any way execute that action or decloak you can either choose a different direction or choose another action or to not decloak entirely.
These are the tournament rules version. In casual play you can test your path and decided if you want to do it before commiting to it.
It comes down to level of play, Casual or Tournament.
You cannot overlap with a boost, barrel roll, or decloak.
No you cannot. Before barrel rolling boosting or decloaking, you must declare which specific direction you're going in (yes, for Echo this means you need to declare which of the SIX directions you'll be going in). If you cannot in any way execute that action or decloak you can either choose a different direction or choose another action or to not decloak entirely.
These are the tournament rules version. In casual play you can test your path and decided if you want to do it before commiting to it.
It comes down to level of play, Casual or Tournament.
It's a bit of a pain, sure, but generally I know which direction I wanna go.
I've kind of got most of my answer but I wanted to double check with you guys. Can you boost into another ship, or Barrel Roll, or uncloak into them? I don't know why you would most times but it came up the other day. I read in another post that you can't barrel roll onto and asteroid, so I figured it was the same.
thanks for you time
The answers to all your questions (
well, maybe not all, but these ones at least
) are at the bottom of page 8, and on the Boost and Decloak reference cards. Just in case you've got a player that doesn't believe you.
I should note, as it will eventually come up, that you CAN Daredevil into an overlap. It's not a commonly taken EPT, but with Rebel Aces, Arvel might just want to slam into you.
I should note, as it will eventually come up, that you CAN Daredevil into an overlap. It's not a commonly taken EPT, but with Rebel Aces, Arvel might just want to slam into you.
It's an option with Tycho, as well. If you have the choice between Daredevil into overlap or taking a point-blank shot to the face, the former seems the lesser of two evils.
Also, just to be clear, decloaking is not an Action. This sounds pedantic, but it is a meaningful distinction.
You can't boost/barrel roll/decloak onto another ship, onto an obstacle, or across an obstacle. (FAQ and such)
You can do those things through other ships if you can land in the clear.
Wow. I was just about to say yoy were wrong. Then I read the FAQ again. I always assumed that it said your maneuver template could not overlap a ship or obstacle token.
But you are actually right.
This means it is a bit harder to prevent a phantom from decloaking by blocking it
Except the Phantom rules specifically state the manoeuvre token must be unobstructed.
I've only just noticed this one myself after reading this thread. It says you can't overlap another ship or obstacle with your ship, but then it only says the template can't overlap an obstacle. No mention of the template and another ship.
I've only just noticed this one myself after reading this thread. It says you can't overlap another ship or obstacle with your ship, but then it only says the template can't overlap an obstacle. No mention of the template and another ship.
Yeah, pretty sure it's the same rules as boosting or barrel rolling. You can barrel roll or boost around another ship, but an asteroid is too big.
Just remember that the 1 straight is shorter than a small ship base
Just remember that the 1 straight is shorter than a small ship base
It's still in theory possible, although unlikely. You'd have to be at an angel to the other ship, and then BR or boost over a portion of the base.
With a boost it would be a bit easier if you use the 1 bank rather then the straight.
It is interesting that decloaking doesn't allow that however. Perhaps because you can decloak farther they wanted to make it easier to block a decloak.
It is interesting that decloaking doesn't allow that however. Perhaps because you can decloak farther they wanted to make it easier to block a decloak.
The decloak language is exactly the same as the boost/barrel roll language.
When a ship decloaks, it must choose one of the following effects:
- Perform a barrel roll using the [straight 2] maneuver template.
- Execute a [straight 2] maneuver
...
A ship cannot decloak if it would overlap another ship or an obstacle token, or if the maneuver template would overlap an obstacle token.
I don't know why people are arguing that you can't decloak past another ship.
Edited by SideslipThe decloak language is exactly the same as the boost/barrel roll language.
You'r right, my bad. I read someone else say that and then for some reason read it on the card.