Stand Off vs Torn Hero?

By BlackFireDragon, in UFS Rules Q & A

Stand off:

E, Commit 2 foundations: This attack gets -4 damage. Your opponent may commit 2 foundations to cancle this effect

E, Commit 2 foundations: Your attack gets +4 damage. Your opponent may commit 2 foundations to cancle this effect

Torn Hero

After this foundation is commited due to your opponent's card effect, choose 2 cards in your opponent's staging area and commit them.

if my opponent uses their Stand off and I choose to commit 2 foundations to cancle it's effect, if I commited my Torn hero would I be able to use the static ability on torn hero?

I was just wondering, since even though I'm the one who gets to choose if I will commit for it, it is being caused by my opponent's effect (since it says due to your opponent's effect, not by your opponent). Im sure the answer is no, but I figured I'd just check anyway as a "just in case".

No. You're committing Torn Hero to pay a cost, and not as part of an opponent's card effect.

As I understand it this will be addressed in the next Advanced Game Rules.

Abilities with conditionals like the one above ("your opponent MAY commit 2 foundations to cancel this effect") generate costs that a player may choose to play to get an additional effect. Even though this cost is only allowed because of effect text, it is not considered an effect itself.