"Hungry Mob"

By fabest, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Hungry Mob

Cost 0

ST 3 Militar

Ally

After you pay 3 or more gold for a card or effect, kneel Hungry Mob

If I play a card that cost 3 gold, but reduce its cost by 1 I only pay 2 gold so the Mob is not knelt, right?

It seems like a very strong card to me if it is the case, for Stark rush military (who will never pay 3 gold for anything except a few great cards) :)

You'll want a ruling from FFG on this one. I could argue it either way.

On the one hand, when an effect is initiated, you determine the cost to be paid before adding in reducers, etc. So in that sense, if a card costs 5 gold, you are still responsible for paying 5 gold regardless of the options you use to actually pay it (like reducers, etc.)

On the other hand, the card specifies paying 3 gold, and since reducers would kick in before you pay any gold, reducing a card's cost from 5 to 2 means that you have only paid 2 gold.

So yeah, I can see the argument going either way and you'll want to send the question into FFG. There's a "Rules Questions" link at the very bottom of every page.

I had the same thoughts as you, Ktom, about this card, that's why I asked ;)

Thanks for your help, I have submitted the question to superior authorities.

fabest said:

I had the same thoughts as you, Ktom, about this card, that's why I asked ;)

I figured you had gone through the thought process. I just thought there might be value in writing out the two sides of this one.

Yeah, when I first looked at this one I thought it was obviously any effect that cost 3 gold... and then later I noticed it is after you payed three gold. I'd say by wording alone that I would rule it as what was actually pulled from your gold coins into the treasury until word comes from FFG that their intent was otherwise. Not because I think that is how it will be eventually ruled, but because I find it the easiest to explain and "prove" using real world examples.

Final word by Nate French, who answered very quickly :

Hello,

Hungry Mob will look at the amount that is actually paid. (After
reducers are applied.)

If it were the other way, the card would read: "After you play a card
or trigger an effect with a cost of 3 or more gold."

As cost and the amount paid are 2 different values.

Another question on this card. If you had more than one in play would all of them kneel because of a single payment?

Yes. Each card triggers separately and individually. So each one kneels itself. Resolving Mob #1 does not stop/excuse you from resolving Mob #2.