Playing the same Action card twice a round?

By Hawkcraft, in Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition

FAQ says: Its not allowed to play the same action card in the same situation twice a game round.

Situation was:

- Player 1 played " Secret Industrial Spy" : Destroy an enemy Spacedock

- Player 2 canceled it with sabotage

- Player 1 played "Touch of Genius": Take a Card back from the Discard pile and played "Secret Industrial Spy" again

Now Player 2 argumented that this is the same situation like the first time, so Player 1 has to wait until his next turn to destroy the spacedock?

Player 1 said the rule only counts for additive situations like playing two "Flank Speed" Action cards?

Thx for your wisdom

Hawkcraft

if you had used two copies of secret industrial agent it would have been illegal, but since the second one is actually touch of genious copying secret industrial agent it is legal.

In any case, in this situation it doesn't even matter. If you Sabotage a card, it's like you never played the card in the first place, so even if it was the same exact card, you COULD play it again.