Hermit on the Crypt space

By Goldbadger, in Talisman

Hey all,

In our last game the Hermit card ended up being on the Crypt space. I managed to get through the Portal of Power and collected the Talisman. I argued that as I encountered the Hermit I didn't have to encounter the space. Was I right in my thinking?

Many Thanks,

GB

No. When you land on an space which is NOT a Draw card space, you encounter any cards there first AND then you follow the instructions on the space; this is confirmed in the main rulebook.

Ell.

Thank you for your quick reply. My fellow gamers will be very angry with me as I went on to win the game! :)

You always encounter the space unless there is a player there and you choose to encounter them.

And, of course, you can't encounter players in the Inner Region (for the most part), so that wouldn't work either. :)