- Does HQ Interface/Nerve Agent make the runner access additional cards in addition to the one chosen by the corp?
- Does HQ Interface/Nerve Agent make the runner access additional cards in addition to the one chosen by the corp?
- Can the Runner change the order in which the card chosen for Kitsune is accessed, for example, make the "Kitsune card" the last card to be accessed since it is most likely a trap?
- Does Demolition Run/Imp cause the accessed card chosen by Kitsune to be trashed?
1) I would say yes. Kitsune makes you access a card from HQ. HQI and Nerve Agent both trigger from accessing cards in HQ. Remember though that Nerve Agent's effect is optional - you MAY access additional cards (as per the FAQ, you must declare how many you will access before you access any).
2) Trickier. It's typically the Runner's choice about what order to access cards, so I lean towards yes. However, most accesses from HQ are blind. Worth sending in for an official response.
3) Absolutely. Though again, both these effects are optional.
Edited by CommissarFeeshI would say you would have to access the card from Kitsune first followed by any additional cards permitted through card abilities such as Nerve Agent or HQ interface. But it could depend on when the conditional triggers granting additional accesses resolve (i.e. it is the Kitsune access that then grants the additional cards, and the other accesses are not available until an access takes place).
I would say you would have to access the card from Kitsune first followed by any additional cards permitted through card abilities such as Nerve Agent or HQ interface. But it could depend on when the conditional triggers granting additional accesses resolve (i.e. it is the Kitsune access that then grants the additional cards, and the other accesses are not available until an access takes place).
That's a good argument for it. Tricky question really, and one which I think we'll be wanting answered fairly soon.
I'm off on a totally different track from my esteemed colleagues.
Kitsune's wording is "The Corp may choose a card from HQ. The runner accesses that card." It does not say "The runner now is considered to make a successful run on HQ", nor does it say "The runner accesses a card from HQ". Nor, to get even more semantic, does it say "The runner accesses a card from HQ that the corp may choose first."
So, to my way of thinking, HQI, Nerve Agent - none of such things apply. It's not a HQ access. It's a forced access of a single card that corp chooses. The origin of that card happens to be HQ, but that's really irrelevant, mechanically, at least as far as how I read it. Which also neatly solves having to figure out which cards the runner gets to look at first - they don't have a choice, there's just the one.
If i'm wrong, and it does count as a HQ card access, then I'd say the runner always chooses the sequence - either their bonus card(s) from HQ, or the one the corp chose, in whatever order they prefer. This still allows the corp to play mind games - perhaps the chosen card is the agenda and the hand contains the snare, perhaps not.
I'm off on a totally different track from my esteemed colleagues.
Kitsune's wording is "The Corp may choose a card from HQ. The runner accesses that card." It does not say "The runner now is considered to make a successful run on HQ", nor does it say "The runner accesses a card from HQ". Nor, to get even more semantic, does it say "The runner accesses a card from HQ that the corp may choose first."
So, to my way of thinking, HQI, Nerve Agent - none of such things apply. It's not a HQ access. It's a forced access of a single card that corp chooses. The origin of that card happens to be HQ, but that's really irrelevant, mechanically, at least as far as how I read it. Which also neatly solves having to figure out which cards the runner gets to look at first - they don't have a choice, there's just the one.
If i'm wrong, and it does count as a HQ card access, then I'd say the runner always chooses the sequence - either their bonus card(s) from HQ, or the one the corp chose, in whatever order they prefer. This still allows the corp to play mind games - perhaps the chosen card is the agenda and the hand contains the snare, perhaps not.
An interesting (and plausible) interpretation. Even more reason to get an official answer!
I wish I could agree, but the wording on Kitsune to me implies that it's "a card from HQ." I don't think there is a timing issue, however. NA/HQI say "whenever you access a card from HQ" implying that your default access is always the first card, because that access has to be a present-tense actuality to trigger. The second, third, et al. accesses are those granted by the runner's cards.
So, to my mind the closest reading of the rules is that the runner accesses Kitsune's card from HQ, which causes NA/HQI to proc. So, to my best attempt: