Block Cards= BLANK Cards?

By Itachi Uchiha, in UFS Rules Q & A

This might just be me hearing things but along this crazy journy of UFS I overheard there was a "New Ruling" about Block cards. I heard that when you play a card as a block it is considered to be a blank card just used for blocking. NOW If and only IF this is correct information. Which I doubt it is, I just want to make sure everyone is 100% Clear. The could you not block with Neo Raging Storm without having the requirments "Only playable if you have at least two other attacks in your card pool". Sense it IS a blank card? No? Now I know Logic and UFS are FAR from together but I just want to make sure I am thinking with my head on right. Please and Thanks.

Your Homo with the Most!

I've heard of this as well, but I cannot find anything in the rules relating to it. However, cards used as blocks are only considered to be one of the five types of cards (character, asset, attack, action, foundation).

you guys are looking for the following line from the AGR:

8.3.2.12 When an action card is played as a block, it is considered a block card. It is not an Enhance, Response, or Form card, and may not be negated by cards that negate Enhances, Responses, or Forms.

It's still an attack card, or a foundation, or an assest. however when being played, those cards being being played for the block effect.

So if you block with attacks, those would count for a requirement of needing attacks in the card pool.

Welcome back, and I strongly advise when you get the chance, review the AGR. There are a bunch of little changes like the one above that cleans up how cards interact.

Thanks much, This clears up a lot.

This means that for example if I block with a Melancholic Mercurius and then manage to play another just behind it the second one gets the speed bonus no? Sorry for bringing this back up but I just want to make sure because this was unclear during one tournament.

Nekuro said:

This means that for example if I block with a Melancholic Mercurius and then manage to play another just behind it the second one gets the speed bonus no? Sorry for bringing this back up but I just want to make sure because this was unclear during one tournament.

Yes, the static text from a Melancholic Mercurius played as a block would apply to any future copies you might choose to play. <So long as it remains in the card pool>

Note that if you don't have 2 attacks in your card pool you can't block w/ Neo Raging Storm.