When to Use the Raft

By Improvisor, in Talisman Rules Questions

At a recent gaming convention, a gamer strongly felt he had a right (with an axe) to use and move the raft "that turn." I ruled that he must wait a turn to use the raft, because he acquired or built the raft during "that turn." You use the axe to cut down the tree and build the raft in one turn. You use the raft the next turn. Is that a correct interpretation of the 4th edition Revised Rules?

I look forward to your prompt and thoughtful replies.

Best, Mr. Talisman

You are correct. Base game rules p17.

...
Any character in a Woods or Forest space at the start of his turn who has an Axe may declare that he is building a Raft for that move. Instead of moving, the character takes a Raft Card from the Purchase deck (if available).

Any character acquiring a Raft may cross the river at the start of his next turn . The character may cross the river to any space of his choice directly opposite the one he is in. This is his move for that turn; he does not roll the die to determine his movement.

...

Edited by Nioreh