"Discarding" from the card pool

By MegaGeese, in UFS Rules Q & A

Shredding Vibrato
You may only play this attack if you have discarded at least two attacks from your card pool.

Mark of the Beast, Ichi no Tachi, Graceful Kabuki, Fatal Disruptor, Illusion Kick, Lunging Snake
If this card blocks an attack with Multiple, all of that card's multiple copies are discarded.

My question should be pretty obvious - will the "anti-multiple" cards' static text fulfill the requirement for Vibrato?

1. Technically, the player using Vibrato hasn't discarded the attacks from the card pool, because the static doesn't say "your opponent discards all of the multiple copies" or something like that; basically, the cards aren't being discarded due to the Vibrato player's effect(s). Thus, Vibrato CANNOT be played.

or

2. Yes, because the player is still discarding attacks from the card pool.

If you are defending against a multiple with those cards, then I say yes it counts as the opponent discarding them from their cardpool so then they can be able to play Vibrato as your mistake became.

MegaGeese said:

Shredding Vibrato
You may only play this attack YOU have discarded at least two attacks from your card pool.

.

I think the "you" is the key part of Vibrater's cost. Since technically the discarding of the multiple copies is caused by your opponant, then the cost wouldn't be fufilled.

"If this attack blocks an attack with Multiple, all of that cards Multiple copies are discarded"

"You may only play this attack if you've discarded at least 2 attacks from your cardpool"

the way I see it is that when you attack with multiple and if your opponent blocks with any cards of the following first block static then the offensive player discards the copies from their own cardpool which can allow them to play Shredding Vibrato because the offensive had to discard the copies of the multiple attack meeting the requirement.

though I guess we should have omar-sensei tell us the rulings... or someone of that stature.

just in the same way that "you" dont remove your opponents cards from the game, they do; i think that an owner of a cardpool is the only one that can discard cards from it. It may be the blockees card effect causing the cards to get discarded, but the attacker is the one actually doing the discarding.

Ichi says that multiples are discarded, it doesnt specify WHO discards them

MegaGeese said:

Shredding Vibrato
You may only play this attack if you have discarded at least two attacks from your card pool.

Mark of the Beast, Ichi no Tachi, Graceful Kabuki, Fatal Disruptor, Illusion Kick, Lunging Snake
If this card blocks an attack with Multiple, all of that card's multiple copies are discarded.

My question should be pretty obvious - will the "anti-multiple" cards' static text fulfill the requirement for Vibrato?

1. Technically, the player using Vibrato hasn't discarded the attacks from the card pool, because the static doesn't say "your opponent discards all of the multiple copies" or something like that; basically, the cards aren't being discarded due to the Vibrato player's effect(s). Thus, Vibrato CANNOT be played.

or

2. Yes, because the player is still discarding attacks from the card pool.

2 - You have discarded cards from your card pool.

It just means that the player has to have removed 2 cards from their card pool. It doesn't mean by their effect.

Smazzurco said:

just in the same way that "you" dont remove your opponents cards from the game, they do; i think that an owner of a cardpool is the only one that can discard cards from it. It may be the blockees card effect causing the cards to get discarded, but the attacker is the one actually doing the discarding.

Ichi says that multiples are discarded, it doesnt specify WHO discards them

Smazzurco said:

just in the same way that "you" dont remove your opponents cards from the game, they do; i think that an owner of a cardpool is the only one that can discard cards from it. It may be the blockees card effect causing the cards to get discarded, but the attacker is the one actually doing the discarding.

Ichi says that multiples are discarded, it doesnt specify WHO discards them

yes it says that, which should consequently allow the offensive player to play Shredding Vibrato.

besides how are you able to block your own attack anyway when you're attacking?

B-Rad said:

I think the "you" is the key part of Vibrater's cost. Since technically the discarding of the multiple copies is caused by your opponant, then the cost wouldn't be fufilled.

Yeah, hence the quandary.

Thanks, Brian. Glad this was cleared up before it became an issue for me >=D

knew_b33 said:

Smazzurco said:

just in the same way that "you" dont remove your opponents cards from the game, they do; i think that an owner of a cardpool is the only one that can discard cards from it. It may be the blockees card effect causing the cards to get discarded, but the attacker is the one actually doing the discarding.

Ichi says that multiples are discarded, it doesnt specify WHO discards them

Smazzurco said:

just in the same way that "you" dont remove your opponents cards from the game, they do; i think that an owner of a cardpool is the only one that can discard cards from it. It may be the blockees card effect causing the cards to get discarded, but the attacker is the one actually doing the discarding.

Ichi says that multiples are discarded, it doesnt specify WHO discards them

yes it says that, which should consequently allow the offensive player to play Shredding Vibrato.

besides how are you able to block your own attack anyway when you're attacking?

where do i mention blocking your own attack? There is one person blocking, and one attacking...

Well, do they mean I physically move them? because I am... and unless my opponent reaches over and does it himself... oh the technicalities

It says discard them from the card pool. i.e. it is an ability on an opponents card that makes you discard them from your card pool. Your opponent technically cant discard cards from your card pool, all they can do is make you discard cards from your card pool. Which is the situation here. Who actually removes the cards from the card pool physically is irrelevant.

Does using Felicia's Form or Kunai on a Multiple-copy (and discarding it instead of sending to momentum) count toward Shredding Vibrato's requirement?

Wafflecopter said:

Does using Felicia's Form or Kunai on a Multiple-copy (and discarding it instead of sending to momentum) count toward Shredding Vibrato's requirement?

Yes, because since the multiple is discarded, you've discarded it from the card pool since it can't be added to the momentum.