Timing question: Crackdown

By BrooklynMike, in CoC Rules Discussion

When you have a card like Crackdown that says "Response: After you win an Icon struggle by at least two icons choose and wound a character" my impression is that the sequence is as follows:

Resolve each icon struggle, applying each icon struggle as the resolve

Determine success based on skill

THEN resolve cards like Crackdown, in this case choose and wound a character

My daughter thinks the Response triggers right after you win the icon struggle by two, and you choose and wound a character before going to the next icon struggle.

Can you let me know which way is correct?

I think you have it right.

The rule book says In particular, during the resolve story card step of the story phase, no card effects or actions may be taken until all three stories have been resolved.

The more I think about my previous answer the more unsure I become.

There are some card effects that say things like "if you win icon struggle X by more than 2 you win the story." However, if I read the rule book correctly this wouldn't trigger until after all three stories are resolved, and it is possible that someone else has already won the story.

So now I'm thining their language of "no card effects" is more vague than I originally thought.

I'm going to suggest that any card that says something about the outcome of an icon struggle must need to be resolved immediately after the identified icon struggle is resolved, not after the entire story (or all three stories, for that matter) is resolved.

When stories resolve you can only Play Disrupt and Forced response.

A card like Cracckdown is a Response. So look at the turn sequence p.13 you can play Response only during the white boxes after you resolve ALL Stories (and so all struggles, and determine succes of each story). So you will play CrackDown after you resolved story 1, story 2, story 3, etc...

That kind of makes sense to me, but why does the rulebook say

In particular, during the resolve story card step of the story phase, no card effects or actions may be taken until all three stories have been resolved.

if you are allowed to have disrupt or forced response effects before all stories have been resolved? The rules also clarify that there are only two kinds of effect - game effects and card effects.

I *think* what Dadajef says makes sense, but I get confused with the offiial rule language.

My understanding is that "Action" and "Response" are restricted to the white boxes in the turn sequence, so the Crackdown would have to wait until ll icon struggles and success determination have been completed for all three stories.

"Forced Response" and "Disrupt" are immediate interruptions that are resolved the instant they are triggered.

In this sense, the story effects of the won stories are basically Disrupt effects that you have the option of ignoring.