Definition of "Play"

By Speedsta, in UFS Rules Q & A

Hi people,

I recently made a ruling on starter deck Sakura, I'd like to ask for people's thoughts on it?

Sakura's text is to choose a card in your discard pile and "the chosen card may be played once as though it was in your hand".

If you fail a control check for a card it is not considered played, so the ruling I made was that if Blood Runs True is used to make Sakura fail the card she can attempt to play it again as the limit of playing the card once has not been reached.

Is there any chance of an official ruling on this?

Thanks

Yeah, that'll work, based on that logic.

oh brokesause.

Im building everyones favorite schoolgirl now...

No.

When you attempt to play it, it moves to the transitional zone, is no longer in the discard pile and becomes ineligable to be played again.

F Commit: Once per turn, choose 1 card in your discard pile. Until the end of this turn, as long as the chosen card is in your discard pile, it may be played once as though it were in your hand.

aslum said:

No.

When you attempt to play it, it moves to the transitional zone, is no longer in the discard pile and becomes ineligable to be played again.

F Commit: Once per turn, choose 1 card in your discard pile. Until the end of this turn, as long as the chosen card is in your discard pile, it may be played once as though it were in your hand.

So it goes discard - > Transition zone -> (fails) -> back to discard.

The card never goes to an "unknown" zone so, unless i am wrong which in this case is pretty likely lol, the card never ceases to be "this card".

If it went to your hand, or some "uknown" zone then it ceases to be the same card (i.e. reanimated on itself) but in this case, much like a SoC named with fire drops to the staging area keeping fire, cause it never goes to an unknown zone.

I would think the design allows it to be attempted once, but wondering which way the rules lean.

Rules lean to saying the chosen card is still in the discard pile, you can attempt to play it again.

Thanks for the help :)