Riding Horse and Torch in Dungeon

By chani2, in Talisman Rules Questions

What happens if you have a riding horse and the torch in the dungeon?

Thanks in advance

Roll three and choose two

It's wording-dependant. Things that duplicate another thing aren't cumulative in Talisman (Prophetess + Orb of Knowledge etc.). Without knowing the text for Torch, hard to say for certain.

Torch:

You may roll two dice for your movement in the Dungeon, and choose one of the results to use for your move.

As Ell many times tried to teach us, we can only modife our movement only using one effect, so, or You're using the Horse, or You're using the Torch. As an example, Amazon rather cannot use the Ridding Horse and roll 4 dice every turn for her movement - or she's jumping from the tree to tree (and roll two dice and choose one result) or she's ridding the Horse (and she add the results together).

Nemomon ~

I think you must choose if you use the torch or the riding horse.

In my eyes... the riding horse is better..

With the riding horse, you roll 2 dices and have more chances to roll high..

Seems like too many things important from previous editions were pumped up too much for the sake of speeding up movement (and yet reducing choice and control for players)... so much so that now there have to be rules clarifications, more and more. As an experiment, you might try playing the horse and torch like they used to be in 2E.

I believe the Horse used to allow adding up to 2 or 3 to your movement after you roll. I think the torch had a similar effect, though perhaps only 1 (??? Someone who knows for sure should help me out here). This removes excessive randomness introduced in 4ER versions, and since it is a modifier of a roll and not a multiplier (multiple dice), the modifiers can be cumulative. It puts more control back into the players hands as well, giving more real choices of benefit rather than sacrifice.... and that is a real way to speed up the game.

But I still see no sense in equines being allowed in the dungeon... oh well.

I was wrong. The 2E Dungeon torch allows rolling an extra dice and choosing one not to use. So in using the old Horse, you would roll two dice with the Torch, pick the one you want, then the horse would allow you to add to that roll, giving you greater ability to hit a particular space you wanted. Sounds much better to me... if giving players more control over their character is a real goal for improving the game.

Using a Follower and an Object shouldn't be a choice of one canceling the other out. Follower and Follower, or Object and Object, then maybe, but not between two different resources collected.

I think i am not combining the horse with the torch unless it is clarified that you may do that in 4th edition.

Maybe that Talismansilat can help us with this gran_risa.gif

The Final judgment will soon be answered demonio.gif

...someone steps out of the shadows...

I have to agree with JC Hendee. Horses in Dungeons don't make sense. A mule I could imagine - although perhaps he should be put in the Cell or given to a Guard if those spaces are encountered. However, I personally don't think people should use either A) Rding Horse or B) Horse and Cart in the Dungeon. Hope we get an official ruling and **explanation** of whether or not this should be allowed. ( One of the main rerasons I like this game is that despie its occasional chaos, it *feels* like a coherent adventure world.)

Until an official ruling, my house rule will be: Bot cards may be taken into the dungeon, but must be left on the entrance square. They will scramble out tof the ruins and return to their master if she whistles for them upon returning to the Outer Region. .

....and with a faint "pft!' and a whisper of cologne, he didappears once again.

Per Talismanamsilt

The Black Unicorn, Colossus, Horse and Cart, Mule, Riding Horse, Unicorn, Warhorse, and Enemy Followers may be taken into the Dungeon.

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=49&efcid=1&efidt=113293

Matt

Montebanc said:

...someone steps out of the shadows...

I have to agree with JC Hendee. Horses in Dungeons don't make sense. A mule I could imagine - although perhaps he should be put in the Cell or given to a Guard if those spaces are encountered. However, I personally don't think people should use either A) Rding Horse or B) Horse and Cart in the Dungeon. Hope we get an official ruling and **explanation** of whether or not this should be allowed. ( One of the main rerasons I like this game is that despie its occasional chaos, it *feels* like a coherent adventure world.)

Until an official ruling, my house rule will be: Bot cards may be taken into the dungeon, but must be left on the entrance square. They will scramble out tof the ruins and return to their master if she whistles for them upon returning to the Outer Region. .

....and with a faint "pft!' and a whisper of cologne, he didappears once again.

In third edition, you may use your horse, mule etc also in the dungeon gran_risa.gif

I love this rule demonio.gif

Yes, it seems there was some melding of some stuff between 2E and 3E when 4E was first devised, and most of that carried over into 4ER. Can anyone give me the official text from the 4ER "Horse"... and am I correct in that it was included in the Reaper expansion?

JCHendee said:

Yes, it seems there was some melding of some stuff between 2E and 3E when 4E was first devised, and most of that carried over into 4ER. Can anyone give me the official text from the 4ER "Horse"... and am I correct in that it was included in the Reaper expansion?

Hi JC,

Yes, the Horse, Horse&Cart, are included in the Reaper expansion.

The text from the horse is:

You may roll 2 dice and add them together to determine how far you move.

Greetings,

Velhart

Thanks V! Appreciate it... now I have a bit more data for a coming article on the Horse down through the different versions of Talisman.