Desperate Defenders

By athlim, in Tide of Iron

sorry i have to come up with an rule question from the base game.

the operation card Desperate Defenders states:

"Your squads may attack at half their firepower -(round up) even if they are pinned or disrupted. Squads containing friendly officiers do not gain any additional benefit."

So is a pinned squad with desperate defenders in play allowd to operate an At-gun (make an attack with the equpiment at half firepower?)

Tricky one this. But I would say no. Using concentrated attack with the AT-gun, is acutaly an action by the At-gun unit. An action which requires a non-pinned unit in the hex. The Desperate Defenders strategy card, only modifies actions allowed by the pinned squad.

athlim said:

"Your squads may attack at half their firepower -(round up) even if they are pinned or disrupted. Squads containing friendly officiers do not gain any additional benefit."

So is a pinned squad with desperate defenders in play allowd to operate an At-gun (make an attack with the equpiment at half firepower?)

Hefsgaard has it right, but I don't think it's at all tricky. An AT-gun is an AT-gun, a squad is a squad. As units, they each do their own thing. The squad is still technically pinned or disrupted, but it may take the action of attacking. And that action is at half firepower. The card doesn't say it is not 'pinned or disrupted' for other purposes.

I think it is tricky because the rules for Equipment first states that it is the Equipment that is the active unit, then reverses retoric in the last paragraf, where the Important note says that pinned squads may not activate equipment.

Thx for your input on my issue.

The reason for my question orginally came from reading the FAQ. In the DotF-FAQ is stated that a pinned squad may operate an AT-gun when a friendly officer is present (although at half firepower). My idea of the desperate defenders card was that it works as some kind of friendly offcier in the squads, granting the same bonuses (allowing to operate equipment and make a concentrated attack both at halffirepower)

But when reading your comments and several rereading the op card i tend to believe your interpretation is correct. And for that it only grants the concentrated attack "bonus" to the friendly squads.