2014 Australian Nationals Tournament Report (long)

By MorganR, in X-Wing Battle Reports

G’day all – I thought I’d write up a tournament report as Nationals seems to generate a bit of interest and I have appreciated it when others have taken the time to do a write up. I particularly enjoyed Paul Heaver’s GenCon top 4 report on TC and his squad building decision process so I thought I would incorporate a bit of squad design background for those interested. If you want to skip straight to the Batreps then just scroll down a couple of paragraphs. Apologies for the length – but I thought our Nationals deserved a bit of extra effort!

Picking a squad to take to Nationals was tough! Now I’m normally a Rebel player and have played pretty much exclusively Rebs since I started playing late in 2013 but since Wave 4 dropped I have been feeling pretty uncomfortable with the Rebels ability to consistently deal with Whisper or Echo without either taking a Falcon or tailoring your squad specifically with Phantoms/Interceptors in mind. I found I could handle Phantoms ok when I designed my Reb squads to beat them but my squad then suffered against Falcons, 4+ ship Rebs and Swarms. I tried many, many different squads and variations of the Rebel builds but I just couldn’t find something that performed consistently and strongly enough outside of a Falcon. The problem is - I’m not a huge fan of flying the Flacon as I just find it’s play style a little boring. No offence to the Falcon players as it takes a lot of skill to keep that bad boy out of trouble, on good lines and dealing consistent damage to pull its weight and survive for the points win, but it just isn’t really my thing. I enjoy the tactical manoeuvre and arc placement of the small ships.