Many rule questions

By Percy, in BattleLore

Hey everybody!

english is not my native language thus I'm sorry for the following grammatical mistakes. :)

Ok, I just played two scenarios and have a whole bunch of questions.

1.What happens if one unit has to retrieve but an enemy unit is blocking them. Do they receive damage instead?

2. Is an archer able to attack someone who is standing on a hill or forrest hex?

3. is an archer who's standing on a hill or forrest hex able attack another unit that is on such a hex... even if there are some normal hexes between them?

4. What happens if I use doubleshot? attack - counter - attack - counter? or attack - attack - counter?

5. Is an archer unit allowed to counter a ranged attack over two hexes?

Thank you very much for your help!

Hi!

And welcome to the game :)

1. If a retreating unit cannot resolve the retreat, it takes one damage per space it cannot retreat. Beware that supported units do not take damage.

2 &3. For ranged attacks, you just have to check LoS and that between the shooting unit and the target there is nothing blocking LoS. Hence, if the line from the Archers unit to their target doesn't contain any hill, building, forest hex or other units but the target unit is in a forest, on a hill or in a building, it's an eligible target. If your archers unit stands on a hill, it may ignore other units between them and their target

4. Every attack is counterable as long as the countering rules are met. Hence, attack - counter - attack - counter (IF the countering unit is still adjacent to the attacking unit after their combat roll is resolved, IF the unit is counterable, and so on)

5. Nope. For countering, adjacency is a requirement

Hope this helps!

Edited by Julia

Thank you very much, your answer was very helpful!

I still have a question but it's very special:

There is a lore card (Bonespurs) that says 'This target unit ignores all damage from this attack'. Does it also affect the damage that is caused of 'being-not-able-to-retrieve' ? (Hope that you'll understand my confusing english)

I'd say non-resolvable retreat are not covered by Bone Spurs. The card says you ignore all damage from the attack , but doesn't say anything about ignoring retreats . Hence, retreats are normally resolved. Then, whether the retreats can be resolved or not, it's another story, but the card does not protect you any longer.