Crossposted from cardgamedb, as I couldn't get an answer here. Would appreciate your expert advice, especially regarding example 2:
I find that if a card has "otherwise" in the text box, I am likely to be unsure how to interpret it.
Your thoughts and guidance please:
Examples:
Example 1: Warden of the West interacting with Destitute Horde
Warden of the West attachs to a House card and has Prized 3.
Destitute Horde has
"Response: After a Reinforcements event card is played, choose an attachment controlled by an opponent. Take control of that attachment, and attach it to Destitute Horde, if able. Otherwise, discard it from play."
Targ player plays a Reinforcement event, and activates the response to choose Warden of the West.
Does he:
1) Take control of it, then discard it, allowing the Lannister player to claim 3 power?
2) Fail to take control of it, and then discard it, allowing himself to claim 3 power?
Example 2: Gates of Winterfell
Robb Stark is in the dead pile.
Gates of Winterfell reads
"Marshalling: Kneel Gates of Winterfell to reveal the top card of your deck. If that card is a House Stark character, put it into play knelt. Otherwise, discard it."
Player kneels gates of winterfell and reveals Robb Stark. Rules state that you can't play or put a unique character into play if it is in the dead pile.
Does the player:
1) Discard Robb Stark because "otherwise" refers to putting into play knelt?
2) Leave Robb Stark on top of the deck but revealed, because "otherwise" refers to if that card is a House Stark character. Which it is.
Example 3: Planky Town Orphan, and choice
Planky Town Orphan reads:
Response: After you play Planky Town Orphan from your hand, reveal the top card of your deck. Play that card as your next action this phase. Otherwise, return it to the top of your deck.
Note it doesn't say "you may play that card", it says "play that card"
Martell player plays Planky Town Orphan. He reveals
The Prince's Plans
. He has the influence to pay for it but wants the influence for other things and isn't really wanting to play it right now.
Does he then
have
to play that card, whether he wants to or not?