Firelands Tokens: What happens if one misses a turn?

By Deornwulf, in Talisman Rules Questions

What happens to a character who misses one or more turns in a space containing a firelands token? Is the character immune from taking damage since the character clearly could not have an end to a turn that was missed?

This question is specifically referenced to the "Spreading Flames" ending. If a character could encounter a card, use an ability, or a spell that specifically states that one or more turns are missed, would the character be immune from taking damage from any tokens?

That's a really good question that could have a lot of impact on any game involving fireland tokens, Spreading flames ending or not.

I'd condense the question to "what happens on your next turn when you are about to miss it?"

1) It does not exist (you would not lose a life)

2) You start it but immediately miss it.

I'd definitely say 1, if this initial time slot existed you would be able to do "at the beginning of your turn" things as well.

However, I think it makes total thematic and mechanic sense to lose two lives.

As for me, I think I'll just post to my play group and suggest we (house?) rule it that way.

A missed turn has no beginning and no end, because it's missed, or skipped if you prefer. So, if you're missing a turn and your character is in a space with fireland tokens, you shouldn't lose life.

Surely you lost life the turn before, because you ended the turn in a space with fireland tokens. It's also important to notice that if you are instructed to miss a turn and have other cards to encounter, rules state that you end your turn immediately instead and this counts as the missed turn. You "immediately end your turn", so you take damage from fireland tokens in that case.

Edited by The_Warlock