The Thieves' Guild alternate ending states that:
"A character on the Crown of Command must roll one die for the Thieves' Guild during each of his turns:
1-2) You must take 1 gold from all other characters
3-4) You must take 1 Object from all other characters
5-6) You must take 2 Objects from all other characters
A character on the Crown of Command can hold an unlimited number of Objects. When a gold or Object must be taken, and a character does not have one to take, he is killed. If all other characters are killed, you win the game!
Characters on the Crown of Command cannot encounter each other; they must roll 1 die for the Thieves' Guild instead.
If all remaining characters are on the Crown of Command, the game ends. The character with the most total Objects and gold wins the game."
The way I read this, it sounds like you could steal other players Talismans if you roll a 3-6. If that's the case, the game is pretty much over if other characters aren't already at the Valley of Fire by the time you get to this ending. Even if you could pick up another Talisman it would be gone before you could make any progress.
What do you all think? If this is the correct interpretation of this card I'll likely house rule it so that you can only take the Talisman if there are no other objects left to take.