So when new Leia comes out I might want to have my objectives focused in my opponents turn. Accordind to the new Trust Me ruling where you can try to pay the cost (i.e. 2 damage), would it be possible to TRY to pay for a 2 cost unit with 1 resource and repeat this step 3 times?
Exhausting objectives without actually playing something
Need a little more information. What does the card text say?
So when new Leia comes out I might want to have my objectives focused in my opponents turn. Accordind to the new Trust Me ruling where you can try to pay the cost (i.e. 2 damage), would it be possible to TRY to pay for a 2 cost unit with 1 resource and repeat this step 3 times?
I don't think that would work. The "Trust me" ruling is that you can start to initiate the cost but if you are unable to fulfill the full cost, the effect fizzles.
In your example, you would, with 3 ready objectives, have enough resources to pay for a 2-cost unit at least once, so you'd be expected to pay the cost.
Page 16 of the Core rulebook states: " If a player cannot generate enough resources to pay the resource cost, the card cannot be played (it returns to his hand) nor the designated ability executed. " This indicates to me that you really must be unable to generate the resources, not just "unwilling".
Also, that chapter of the rulebook suggests that you must first confirm that you can generate the resources for the card you want to play, and only when you're able to will you start generating the resources.
However, there is nothing in the rules that prevents you from generating more resources than you need to play a card. Once again on pg 16: " The generated resources cannot pay for multiple cards or abilities. Any resources generated in excess of the resource cost are lost. "
So theoretically, it would be possible to exhaust all your objectives to play a 0-cost or 1-cost card.
Thank you, that actually helped a lot! (Especially with Scum i found myself numerous times with loads of open resources)