Captain Kagi Question (And one more)

By BigMrDonut, in X-Wing Rules Questions

I played a game last night with Tarn Mison: "When an enemy ship declares you as the target of an attack, you may acquire a target lock on that ship ."

My opponent had Captain Kagi: "When an enemy ship acquires a target lock, it must lock onto your ship if able."

If my opponent attacked Tarn with say a phantom, would I be able to target lock the phantom, or do I have to target lock Kagi? I'm pretty sure Tarn could target lock the phantom, but since neither of us were 100% confidant we played it as Tarn had to target lock Kagi.

Bonus Question; How do cards such as Outmaneuver (When attacking a ship inside your firing arc, if you are not inside that ship's firing arc, reduce its agility value by 1...) and R7-T1 (Choose and enemy ship at Range 1-2. If you are inside that ship's firing arc ....) interact with a Firespray's auxiliary arc? I know a Firespray can't fire secondary weapons from the auxiliary arc, but since these cards do not specify STANDARD firing arc, I’m assuming that they also apply to the auxiliary arc.

Tarn's wording is very similar to FCS. The FAQ has a clarification for Captain Kagi and FCS that the Target Lock must be aquired on the defender, not Captain Kagi. So I would think Tarn gets the Target Lock on the attacker still, the same way FCS gives you a target lock on the defending ship still.

Bonus Answer: Yes, since it does not specify standard firing arc, as long as you are either of the standard or auxiliary firing arc, you are considered to be in their firing arc. The same way some cards specify attacks with the primary weapon, secondary weapon, or don't specify primary or secondary weapon.

Tarn would lock his attacker, not Kagi. The key there is "if able". Tarn doesn't give you any choice of who you're going to lock onto - you can get a lock on your attacker. Tarn couldn't choose to lock Kagi if he wanted to, so he's not able to, so Kagi's ability doesn't apply.

And also as above, anything that specifies an ability be in arc to function (or not function) works for either of the printed arcs on the Firespray.

Buhallin, that was exactly my thought process regarding Tarn. I appreciate the help guys.