Question On Attacking Other Players

By Powerslave1724, in Talisman

Hi All,

I'm very new to Talisman (Few days now since I opened the box) so I apologize if this is a wicked n00b question.

What happens when a player attacks another player and the player defending kills the attacker? Does he get to loot something (Object, Follower or gold) or does he just deal the damage and that's it? Say he does kill the attacker in defense, the attacker leaves everything in that space so at the beginning of the defenders next turn (from my understanding of the rules) the player would NOT be able to loot and would have to roll to move off the space first, then try and get back if he/she did want to loot.

Any insight is appreciated.

Thanks!

Page 9. Main rulebook.

"If a character kills another character during the encounter, he may take any Objects, Followers etc etc"

There is no difference between choosing to encounter and having to encounter when a character is killed. So any character can take stuff from a killed character. It also explains it in the encounter sequence at the back of the rulebook.

Immediately after killing a character (eg removing his last life) during battle or psychic combat (but not through other means such as a spell) you may take all gold, any/all objects, any/all followers. Anything not taken is left on the space and counts as face-up cards/gold for the next player who lands there. Remember a player also drops all his objects/gold/followers on the space if he's turned into a toad.

Edited by Artaterxes

Immediately after killing a character (eg removing his last life) during battle or psychic combat (but not through other means such as a spell) you may take all gold, any/all objects, any/all followers. Anything not taken is left on the space and counts as face-up cards/gold for the next player who lands there. Remember a player also drops all his objects/gold/followers on the space if he's turned into a toad.

Gotcha. So one question then (and i'm not sure if this is even possible). If 2 characters are on the same space and one uses a spell to turn the other into a toad, based on what you mentioned about "not through other means such as a spell", it sounds like the player who cast the spell wouldn't be able to take anything that turn and at the start of his next turn would have to move off of that space.

Appologize Uvatha for missing it in the rule book. I only gave it one quick read so far and have been setting the game up which has brought on some questions. I don't like when I miss stuff that's right in front of me! :D

By the way, i'm having a blast painting these minis!

Edited by Powerslave1724

The situation is a bit different when two characters are on a space. To clarify my earlier comment, you can indeed kill a character via a spell and then take their stuff, but not if you kill them from a different space.

If you "encounter the character," you ignore all the cards on the space and the board text. During the encounter with the character, should any cards end up on the space (e.g. if he ditches cards after getting turned into a toad), you can't access them. They are out of his hands and on the space. Your victory rewards are limited to what is in his possession at the end of battle or psychic combat. You can kill the character in a fight or via a spell and take whatever he possesses, just not what is on the space.

If you "encounter the space," you ignore the character and deal with cards on the space (cards #1 to #6) and then finally the board text ("#7"). If cards end up on the space during your encounter, you encounter them as well. So for example, if you begin your encounters with an event (#1) that summons enemies (#2) onto your space, you fight the enemies even though they weren't there when you started your encounters. Likewise, if someone on your space turns into a toad and drops his objects, followers, and gold (all #5, even gold coins) before or during your space encounter, you can pick them up when you reach the #5 step. (Or if you're past the #5 step, then go back to #5.) The same is true if you manage to kill the character via a spell or ability without actually encountering him.

So, if you want to turn someone into a toad on your space and take all the stuff he ditches, you need to be on the same space, turn him into a toad, then encounter the space. Remember, though, that you still follow encounter number order.

Suppose you land on a space with a Dragon and a character. You can

a) Declare you are encountering the space, cast Random, and maybe turn him into a toad. You will have to defeat or evade the Dragon (#2) to get the stuff he ditched (#5).

b) Declare you are encountering the character, cast Random before attack dice are rolled, and maybe turn him into a toad. You'll be ignoring the Dragon, but you'll also ignore all the stuff he ditched onto the space.

c) Cast Random first, maybe turn him into a toad, and then decide whether you want to encounter the Dragon and stuff he ditched, or just fight the toad. I think this is the best option! But not all spells give you this freedom. Some, such as Toadify ( Frostmarch expansion), can only be case once battle is initiated.

I was thinking about painting too but I am worried they won't turn out! I have hand brushes (no airbrush) and I tried painting figs a bit before but it was harder than I thought... :)

Edited by Artaterxes