Reinforcement Objective and Phase 1 Dark Trooper

By JackofHearts, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

The objective ability states: Reaction: After this Objective enters play, but the topmost (Navy) unit in your discard pile into play, committed to the force. (If that unit cannot be committed to the force, this effect cannot initiate).

Phase 1 dark trooper reads, in part, "This unit is considered committed to the force."

I read it that the Dark Trooper would come into play and, since it is committed to the force, stay in play. My opponent disagreed, stating that the unit could not be committed to the force (the action of which is placing a force card underneath a unit and thus committing it). Which of us was correct? Or are neither of us correct?

*thinking*

Edited by PBrennan

Tricky. I think I would side with you. It does not say "then commit it to the force" it says it should come "into play, committed to the force". As it is already considered committed to the force, there is no need to commit by attaching a force card.

I could see it going either way though. Seems like a clarification in an FAQ would be good.