Targeted Strike Question

By RussianReb, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

Reading the rulebook I think I understand targeted strike but just wanted to clarify a few things.

Targeted strike you can deal unit damage to any one unit (even outside of a conflict). However if you win the edge battle, does that also include edge enabled unit damage icons? The rules state only black icons may be used.

Also if you have Vader who gets targeted strike via a Sith event how does that play out? My understanding is Vader must be active in an engagement. Then play say Force Choke. Then and only then can he use his targeted strike. The key here being that he must be a declared attacker or defender in an engagement. A player must make sure Vader is involved in a conflict before playing Force Choke.

If you can clarify and confirm as I want to make sure I understand the proper turn of events and reactions.

Targeted strike is all unit damage, not just edge enabled or non edge enabled.

Vader doesn't gain targeted strike from a Sith event being played. His reaction lets you deal 1 damage to any unit on the board at any time. Not just during an Engagement. Vaders reaction can be used during your opponents turn as well. It is any time any Sith event is played.

Also, one frequently missed detail of targeted strike: it can only be used when attacking. If a defender has targeted strike it doesn't do them any good.

I appreciate the response. Sounds like I need to re-read Vaders card again.

However you did answer my other questions. If a unit has targeted strike (like Luke has one I believe). Then the unit must be in involved in a conflict. When the unit strikes that damage can be dealt to any opponents units (in or outside) of the conflict.

All unit damage icons are used. If you win the edge battle it will be black and white unit damage.

If you lose the edge battle it will be just black unit damage.

Did I get it right?

Thank you again for the clarification. Still rather new to the game and want to make sure I properly understand and follow the rules.

Another great point I was not aware of. Targeted strike only comes into play of the unit in question is attacking.

Glad you clarified that as well.

I appreciate the response. Sounds like I need to re-read Vaders card again.

However you did answer my other questions. If a unit has targeted strike (like Luke has one I believe). Then the unit must be in involved in a conflict. When the unit strikes that damage can be dealt to any opponents units (in or outside) of the conflict.

All unit damage icons are used. If you win the edge battle it will be black and white unit damage.

If you lose the edge battle it will be just black unit damage.

Did I get it right?

Thank you again for the clarification. Still rather new to the game and want to make sure I properly understand and follow the rules.

You were possibly thinking about Vader's Lightsaber, which is an enhancement which when played on Vader gives him targeted strike (as well as an extra black unit damage icon).

Yes that is the case. I read Vaders card and he just has a reaction to a Sith event. Vaders lightsaber is what gives him the targeted strike. My mistake.

Thank you again all for the perfect clarification.

We're always glad to help. Enjoy the game and always feel free to ask questions! :D