Strike Engagment Clarification

By RussianReb, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

During a conflict can the attacking player cause unit damage on an opponents focused unit within an engagment?

For example: during a conflict Darth Vader was declared as one of the defenders in a conflict but gets focused by one of the LS units. Since Vader was originally part of the engagment, and I ready to strike one of my other units. Can one of my units inflict Vader any unit damage (even though he was focused down)?

Or since he is now focused, he cannot be inflicted any unit damage as part of the conflict?

Just looking for clarification here.

I believe the answer here is yes. As long as a unit is part of the engagment, you can do damage to it even if it is focused out.

Being focused does not remove a unit from the engagement so they may still be damaged by unit damage icons from enemy units.

If Vader were removed from the engagement by another card effect, then he could not be damaged by your attackers.

Thank you for the clarification. It was what I thought as well. Being focused out does not mean you cant be damaged.

So if I really wanted to take Vader out, one of my units can focus him out and the other "ready to strike" units can finish him off.

That's perfect!