Shot Cut

By Mndela, in Rules questions & answers

It reads: after a location enters play....

If the location has 'when revealed', is it triggered?

Yeah, the 'when revealed' effect will trigger. You 'reveal' the card, do 'when revealed' effects, then add the card to the staging area. I believe the card is not considered to have 'entered play' until it has been added to the staging area.

Any other ideas...?

The 'when revealed'-effect triggers only, when the card was put into play by revealing it from the encounterdeck. Not simply by adding it like some effects do. Same with surge.

But before an effect can trigger the card must be in play, so the card goes to the staging area (enters play) and then its effects will trigger as described on the card. So in my opinion its the other way round as GrandSpleen wrote.

GrandSpleen explanation is right.

There is a huge different though on "after X enters play" and "when X enters play", if shortcut was "when X enters play" the location would never been revealed and put in the staging area, but his wording is "after X enters play", so you wait for it to be placed in the right game's position before acting.

The 'when revealed'-effect triggers only, when the card was put into play by revealing it from the encounterdeck. Not simply by adding it like some effects do. Same with surge.

But before an effect can trigger the card must be in play, so the card goes to the staging area (enters play) and then its effects will trigger as described on the card. So in my opinion its the other way round as GrandSpleen wrote.

"When revealed" effect trigger when the card is revealed, before it completly enter play.

see simalirity with ambush and ranger spikes : http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1053300/ranger-spikes-fresh-tracks-and-ambush-keyword

Edited by alogos

Page 15 of the FAQ

Q: When an enemy makes an attack as part of its
“when revealed” effect, is that enemy in the staging
area?
A: No. Enemies are added to the staging after resolving
their “when revealed” effects. An enemy that makes an
attack as part of its “when revealed” effect, is not in
the staging area or engaged with the defending player
unless a card effect says it is.
Which should also apply to this situation.

Mmm.. ok ... but, where will these revealed, not in play cards placed on the table?

Must i hold them in my hands?

That's may seems weird,

but yeah... another spacetime continuum or your hand. Both are fine.