Discarding Caught in a Web

By c08, in Rules questions & answers

Caught in a Web (CS80)

When Revealed: The player with the highest threat level attaches this card to one of his heroes. (Counts as a Condition attachment with the text: "Attached hero does not ready during the refresh phase unless you pay 2 resources from that hero's pool.")

Forest Spider (CS96)

Shadow: Defending player must choose and discard 1 attachment he controls.

Driven by Shadow (CS92)

Shadow: Choose and discard 1 attachment from the defending character. (If this attack is undefended, discard all attachments you control.)

The question is simple. Can I discard Caught in a Web with enemy Shadow effect?

No. In order to discard an attachment you need to control it.

And you don't gain control of attachments that come from the encounter deck unless it is said by the card itself

How to resolve Miner of the Iron Hills than (CS61)

Response: After Miner of the Iron Hills enters play, choose and discard 1 Condition attachment from play.

On most LOTR:LCG forums I've been reading (BGG, Polish Publisher forums) that Miner of the Iron Hills is a way to discard Caught in a Web.

If I don't have control I also should not be able to use Miner of the Iron Hills response.

Edit:

Rulebook p.25

Players always assume control of attachments that
have been played on their characters.

So I assume I have control of Caught in a Web since

(Counts as a Condition attachment with the text: "Attached hero does not ready during the refresh phase unless you pay 2 resources from that hero's pool.")

Edited by c08

No. In order to discard an attachment you control you need to control it beforehand.

Some shadow effect don't target attachment that you control, but simply attachment.

No. Because FAQ describe attachement from the encounter deck as "not played by any player" thus you don't assume control of it.

Thanks for clarification.

So there is no way to get rid off Caught in a Web playing with core set only.

You can discard Caught in a Web with shadow effect on Driven by Shadow (CS92) if you defend with hero who has attached this condition attachment.

For Miner from the Iron Hills response you can discard Caught in a Web.

To clarify: miner of the iron hills does not specify that the attachment discarded must be under your control so that is a perfectly valid play.