Shadow of Despair while Stand Togather

By c08, in Rules questions & answers


Stand Together (CS38)


Action: Choose a player. That player may declare any number of his eligible characters as defenders against each enemy attacking him this phase.

Despair (CS86)

Shadow: Defending character does not count its [Defense].


Does shadow effect cancel Defense value from one character or from all characters?

Asked this yesterday : this is Caleb answer

Because the language of the shadow effect is singular, it will only negate the defense value of 1 defending character. So, if you defend with 2 or more characters using Stand Together and reveal Despair’s shadow effect, you will choose which 1 of your defending characters does not count its defense.

Never had to think about that since I don´t use ST (not that it´s a bad card, my preferences just take me elsewhere).

Nice to know which way such a ruling goes though.