One little thing that eluded my mind

By MyNeighbourTrololo, in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game

med_light-of-valinor-fos.jpg

I don't know why, but I was always thinking that with Light of Valinor, character still needs to be ready to commit to a quest, but now when I look at it, I see no reason why an exhausted character with Light of Valinor can't.

From the rules: "An exhausted card cannot exhaust again (and therefore cannot partake in any action that requires exhaustion )".

Just an interesting sudden realization for me.

This isn't really without interest. I have always thought the same: that only ready characters can perform actions requiring exhausting (quest, defence, attack). But is it really so? I believe, after many surprising answers and errata, this needs be officially addressed.

In a similar way, would Beorn who does not exhaust to defend, be able to defend exhausted? It would come particularly handy after he had quested in a battle.

That is correct. What this card dose is remove the COST of tapping to quest. You "select" who quests, and pay the cost of tapping as part of that assingment. Unfortunalty as of yet there are no "tap" effect heroes (like Denathor or Beravor) for Nolder/Silvian... but I expect evebtually there wil be and you would be able to tap for effect and while tapped quest. I've been waiting for a chance for this to have meaning beyond drawing a tap event card during setup. Yes, that is also exact how Beorn works.

Edited by booored

It would be handy to use for such actions as Vilya with Elrond then. Or when using Palantír. But do we know for sure that it is so?

If we follow exact text of the rules and logic, then we know for sure.

I would incline to agree. But then again, this is not how it has been in the past. The wording usually is not as important as the fact how it was "meant" to be. Until told otherwise though, I will play it as suggested here.

The question is quite old actually.

It's the same case as beorn or tactics noldor ally that does not need to exhaust to defend/attack, or even path of need. It has been officially said that in order to do an action that need exhausting, you need to be ready. Text that say you don't need to exhaust imply that you still can perform the action, you just don't need to exhaust.

So you need to be ready to quest with Light of Valinor.

The question is quite old actually.

It's the same case as beorn or tactics noldor ally that does not need to exhaust to defend/attack, or even path of need. It has been officially said that in order to do an action that need exhausting, you need to be ready. Text that say you don't need to exhaust imply that you still can perform the action, you just don't need to exhaust.

So you need to be ready to quest with Light of Valinor.

Yes - there's an old official answer in this thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/800037/book-of-mazarbul

One could argue that Light of Valinor eliminates the need for the attached character to exhaust to commit to a quest, but game designers always will have the last word.

One could argue that Light of Valinor eliminates the need for the attached character to exhaust to commit to a quest, but game designers always will have the last word.

Only dark minds argue it

...or minds that think a lot.

The question is quite old actually.

It's the same case as beorn or tactics noldor ally that does not need to exhaust to defend/attack, or even path of need. It has been officially said that in order to do an action that need exhausting, you need to be ready. Text that say you don't need to exhaust imply that you still can perform the action, you just don't need to exhaust.

So you need to be ready to quest with Light of Valinor.

Just as I thought, though it is strange the initial dialogue eluded me; or perhaps I just forgot it, never having doubted the ruling.

But we shall give OP credit for bringing this up, I think his reasoning is valid, though it should now be clear to new and older players alike that characters need be ready in order to perform actions that require exhausting.

Boored, just one more thing to get bored with, eh?

Edited by lleimmoen

Yea, it makes sense either way. If we're looking at it strictly from a card cost standpoint, then I would say that since we no longer need to exhaust, we should be able to do it if we're already exhausted.

On the other hand, if you look at it from a "real life" standpoint, if you're already exhausted, you're not able to do much of anything, even if that action isn't exhausting.

The question is quite old actually.

It's the same case as beorn or tactics noldor ally that does not need to exhaust to defend/attack, or even path of need. It has been officially said that in order to do an action that need exhausting, you need to be ready. Text that say you don't need to exhaust imply that you still can perform the action, you just don't need to exhaust.

So you need to be ready to quest with Light of Valinor.

While I totally agree with this, as it makes sense gamewise, the rules seem to contradict that:

Characters and attachment cards enter the game in the

“ready” position–that is, faceup on the playing surface

in front of their controller.

When a card has been “used” for some purpose, such

as to commit to a quest, to attack, to defend, or to use

a character ability that requires the card to exhaust,

it is turned 90 degrees sideways and considered

“exhausted.” An exhausted card cannot exhaust again

(and therefore cannot partake in any action that

requires exhaustion) until it has been readied once

more. When a player is instructed by the game or by

a card effect to ready a card, he moves that card to its

normal upright position.

So if a character doesn't need to exhaust to do a certain action, shouldn't he be able to take that action even when he is exhausted?

So if a character doesn't need to exhaust to do a certain action, shouldn't he be able to take that action even when he is exhausted?

Yup... that's why this discussion exists. Unclear wording in the rulebook seems to be saying what we now know isn't correct.

The wording is clear. We can only go on the card text and the rules... and the logic of the rules says that exhausting is a cost. This card removes that cost. So until there is a errta or a faq than it means you can select to quest while it is tapped. Random postsin threads do not count. Only the card text and rule book.

The entire thing is acedemic anyway, as currently there is no heroes that can really take adbvantage of this.

Elrond with Vilya and Light of Valinor can spawn something from the top of your deck and then quest while exhausted.

The correct way to play Vilya is to tap it and UC during the quest phase, NOT the deployment phase. So while technically your correct, as the entire quest phase is green for actions you can assign to quest before you tap Vilya. So there is no trick here.. Taping then questing is exactly the same as questing then tapping.

Still I prefer to use his 3 defence rather than have him questing.

I prefer to load Elrond up with 3 UCs and an LOV so that he can pull a card, quest, and defend a few times with BB.

If you know what's coming, then it actually may be beneficial greatly to use Vilya in the planning, though if you do it blindly and can expect Elrond's Counsel or the like appear, then I'd agree it is better to wait for the quest phase.

if you know what is coming you do it exacrlt when you want.. so the point is mute. If you do not know then you should ALWAYS do it in the quest phase.

The wording is clear. We can only go on the card text and the rules... and the logic of the rules says that exhausting is a cost. This card removes that cost. So until there is a errta or a faq than it means you can select to quest while it is tapped. Random postsin threads do not count. Only the card text and rule book.

The entire thing is acedemic anyway, as currently there is no heroes that can really take adbvantage of this.

The wording does seem mostly clear, but official answers from devs say this isn't true (not a "random post").

No, it is not mute, why would you always say bullsh*t like that just to pretend you had been right? It would be better to use it in the planning to get say Erestor or Master of the Forge who can then draw another card, attachment or ally, which you can play in the planning but not in the quest phase.

No, it is not mute, why would you always say bullsh*t like that just to pretend you had been right? It would be better to use it in the planning to get say Erestor or Master of the Forge who can then draw another card, attachment or ally, which you can play in the planning but not in the quest phase.

Calm down a bit. :)

You should never use tap effects in the deployment phase, as a rule. Sure some situations may work.. but tapping Master of the Forge for example is nearly always wrong. You tap it at the end of the turn as the last thing you do before refresh. This way you are porteced form treacheries that target taped units, have a emergency blocker if a super scary mod comes out.

The wording does seem mostly clear, but official answers from devs say this isn't true (not a "random post").

No they do not count. I come from the compeditive card game scene. While LoTR is a anomoly die to it being non-compeditive (unlike the other LCGs for example) I hold it to the same standards.

If you are in a competition and two players are in a serious battle, with money and rep on the line.. you can not refrence some random thread or even a email they have recived even it if it is written by the desiners. The rule HAS to be in the FAQ, Errata, the Rule Book or the Card Text. There is no way everyone can be expected to just happen to see the thread when it was the top of the list or w/e