Huge ship question

By Krynn007, in X-Wing

Didn't see anything in the huge ships rules. So im wondering. If you have Han in the fore section can you use his ability if you were firing the weapons in the aft section.

I'm kind of thinking no, but was just wondering if this is mentioned somewhere that I have not seen yet.

( don't have cr90 yet, picking it up today)

Edited by Krynn007

The huge ships, even multi-section huge ships, count as single ships for most purposes. The fore and aft sections count together as one ship. Biggest exception is that if you assign a card to one section that costs an action to activate, only that section can use that action. But, if you have Han Solo on the fore section, and Weapons Engineer on the aft section, the fore section can acquire two target locks and the aft section can spend those target locks to focus on its own attacks.

In the huge ship rules:

"Target Lock [ ]

Some huge ships have the action in their action bar. This allows them to
acquire target locks as described on page 9 of the core set rulebook.

When a huge ship acquires a target lock, the blue target lock is placed next to
the ship. It is not assigned to either section, and it can be spent by
either section."

Edited by dotswarlock

The huge ships, even multi-section huge ships, count as single ships for most purposes. The fore and aft sections count together as one ship. Biggest exception is that if you assign a card to one section that costs an action to activate, only that section can use that action. But, if you have Han Solo on the fore section, and Weapons Engineer on the aft section, the fore section can acquire two target locks and the aft section can spend those target locks to focus on its own attacks.

Also worth noting, with respect to why the locations of your crew and teams are important, is this bit:

A Ship card’s crippled side has fewer Upgrade icons than its normal side. When a Ship card’s crippled side is revealed, the controlling player must choose and discard any Upgrade cards in excess of the upgrade icons depicted on that side. Similarly, he must discard any energy tokens in excess of the energy limit on that side. Titles and modifications are not discarded.

Edited by Vorpal Sword

The huge ships, even multi-section huge ships, count as single ships for most purposes. The fore and aft sections count together as one ship. Biggest exception is that if you assign a card to one section that costs an action to activate, only that section can use that action. But, if you have Han Solo on the fore section, and Weapons Engineer on the aft section, the fore section can acquire two target locks and the aft section can spend those target locks to focus on its own attacks.

Also worth noting, with respect to why the locations of your crew and teams are important, is this bit:

A Ship card’s crippled side has fewer Upgrade icons than its normal side. When a Ship card’s crippled side is revealed, the controlling player must choose and discard any Upgrade cards in excess of the upgrade icons depicted on that side. Similarly, he must discard any energy tokens in excess of the energy limit on that side. Titles and modifications are not discarded.

That last bit about the Title not being discarded. When you equip Tantive IV Title, when your front section is crippled, you can retain the effects of one additional crew and one team, which is otherwise not allowed.

Then if you use the WED droid card can you use the action to remove damage from both sections or only the one it is place on? The card doesn't specify.

Then if you use the WED droid card can you use the action to remove damage from both sections or only the one it is place on? The card doesn't specify.

I think it can repair either section. Just like shield recharge effects both sections.

For an offensive Tantive build, I was thinking something like Targeting Coordinator in aft, Han Solo and Weapons Engineer in fore. The Coordinator can grant a free TL to a friendly ship, and picks up an extra through the Engineer. During the action phase, you can either do a normal Coordinate, or TL again to pick up two more tokens for your own attacks. With the Tantive IV title, you can lose the Fore while keeping the coordinator/weapon engineer combo to pick up Target Locks for your aft weapons and friendly ships.

The obvious downside here is the lack of defensive crew. If they decide to ram you, there's no droid to heal the hull damage.