Can I measure when attacking who I want to attack first?

By Krynn007, in X-Wing

Just wondering

Had a game tonight, and this question came up.

During the attack phase, am I able to check who is in range 1-3 of my attacking ships before I declare my target? Then make my decision based on which target is the best shot?

Was thinking that during the movement phase, once you declare a target lock on someone/barrel roll, etc,your commited if able to do so?

Is it like that when attacking?

Edited by Krynn007

Rulebook says yes, tournament rules say no. Tournament rules say you must declare target before you measure.

Yes you can measure from the active ship to any enemy before declaring your target. FAQ Page 5. Couldn't find it in the Tournament rules.

Edited by Parravon

Yes you can measure from the active ship to any enemy before declaring your target. FAQ Page 5. Couldn't find it in the Tournament rules.

Sorry, thats what I meant by target. You choose which of your ships will shoot first, you can then measure from THAT ship only, but are free to check range to multiple targets before deciding. You cant measure from your other ships.

Yes, you are allowed to measure from the ship you decided to fire with to any potential target before deciding which enemy ship to target (FAQ page 5).

You may not measure from several of your ships before deciding which to fire with and in whom (e.g. to see if all your ships can fire on one specific target).

Rulebook says yes, tournament rules say no. Tournament rules say you must declare target before you measure.

So you say in a tournament... when my enemy seems to be in range 3 i declare him as target and he is by 1mm out of 3 i dont have an attack since my eyesight betrayed me by 1mm?

Rulebook says yes, tournament rules say no. Tournament rules say you must declare target before you measure.

So you say in a tournament... when my enemy seems to be in range 3 i declare him as target and he is by 1mm out of 3 i dont have an attack since my eyesight betrayed me by 1mm?

Rulebook says yes, tournament rules say no. Tournament rules say you must declare target before you measure.

So you say in a tournament... when my enemy seems to be in range 3 i declare him as target and he is by 1mm out of 3 i dont have an attack since my eyesight betrayed me by 1mm?

Nope. If you pick a ship to attack, you can then measure from that ship to all possible targets. You don't have to declare your target before measuring. However, you can't check range from your own ships that are waiting to fire to see if they have range before completing your attack with the initial ship.

Edited by AlexW