Squad Leader Question

By Venters, in X-Wing

So it almost came up in my most recent game,

but If one of my lower skilled pilots finds themselves landing on an asteroid, can one of my higher skilled pilots who has Squad Leader then give that stranded pilot a free action to barrel roll off?

Yes you can. Free actions are outside the "Perform Action" step which is skipped when you overlap an obstacle.

Edited by Gullwind

I was wondering about this earlier.

I thought I read something that if you missed your action due to landing on asteroids /collision that you dont get free actions, but if something was assigned to you that was different.

Then I thought I read somewhere that you could still take free actions.

Did this rule originally change?

Was it in the new faq or something?

I could have sworn you couldn't do free actions

I thought I read something that if you missed your action due to landing on asteroids /collision that you dust get free actions, but if something was assigned to you that was different.

Then I thought I read somewhere that you could still take free actions.

Did this rule originally change?

Was it in the new faq or something?

I could have sworn you couldn't do free actions

Edited by Krynn007

Passing through obstacles only requires you to skip your "perform action" step of the activation phase. Assuming you don't have any stress tokens there is no reason you cannot have a free action passed to you later in the turn

Edited by Effenhoog

Gullwind is correct. You skip your "perform actions" step, but there is nothing o stop you performing action. (Core rulebook p20).

When you overlap you skip your "Perform Action step", but you are still allowed to perform free actions from an outside source, like those handed on by Squad Leader, as this is outside the perform action step.

Current FAQ, page 10, first question under ACTIONS AND GAME EFFECTS.

It's the only way off that asteroid.

Edited by Parravon

The same trick can be done with Advanced Sensors, by the way, and this is also applicable to Proximity Mines that have been lain underneath you. Just remember that you cannot barrel-roll or boost if any part of that template crosses the obstacle token in question.

The same trick can be done with Advanced Sensors, by the way, and this is also applicable to Proximity Mines that have been lain underneath you. Just remember that you cannot barrel-roll or boost if any part of that template crosses the obstacle token in question.

I thought this too, but went looking to post where and couldn't find it anywhere. Only the rulebook that said your Ship in its final position.

The same trick can be done with Advanced Sensors, by the way, and this is also applicable to Proximity Mines that have been lain underneath you. Just remember that you cannot barrel-roll or boost if any part of that template crosses the obstacle token in question.

I thought this too, but went looking to post where and couldn't find it anywhere. Only the rulebook that said your Ship in its final position.

FAQ version 2.0.1 page 1.