Rickon Stark

By HastAttack, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Rickon's text is "after a affect allows you to search your deck ...."

What happens if the original affect is cancelled, can I still trigger Rickon's ability

That's a good question.

I think I'd say that you cannot trigger Rickon because there wasn't an effect that allowed you to search your deck if it were canceled.

Thanks Bomb - I expect is an action is cancelled then the framework action ends and there is no opportunity for responses

But I hate assuming the worse!

I would tend to agree that the way Rickon is worded, the effect you're copying must have been successful. This is different from the wording of past copy effects, which would have read more like, "Copy an effect that allows you to search your deck."

btw: if an action is canceled, the window does NOT end. You still go through passives, responses, etc. Not being able to use Rickon is more about play restrictions not being met; not about timing after a cancel.

ok - thanks Ktom

An example might by the Ashai character who stands / kneels after a event card is played ... it doesn't matter if the event is cancelled, it still goes through to Passives/Response and the character is still stood or knelt

Correct.