Some noob questions, apologies in advance!

By BCooper85, in X-Wing

Hey guys,

  1. When a ship can't complete his move due to another ship being in the way does it lose his action or his attack?
  2. Does using an evade token just cancel out the one hit?

Those are the two questions that spring to mind after the game I had with my gf tonight, sure there are more.

Edited by BCooper85

Hey, no apologies necessary, we all were new to this at some point.

1) If a ship collides with another ship it skips its perform action step, so it does lose its action. (although if you had somebody like turr phenir who does an action after he attacks he could still do those because those special actions happen after the perform actions step)

1.5) Also a ships that are in base to base contact with each other, which will happen after a collision, can not shoot at each other, although they could choose to shoot at another target.

2) An evade token just adds one additional evade result to your dice roll if you choose to use it, so yes it only cancels one hit

I hope that helps :)

1. Yes, for example: If you are trying to K-turn and can't complete the turn due to an enemy, or friendly base overlapping then your ship will stop where it first makes contact with the other ships base. You will lose your action, and be unable to attack the ship who's base your touching. However, you can attack any other enemy ship within range.

2. Yes, if you take the evade action, it will only cancel one hit result. Where by using the Focus action you can change every (eye) result to an evade.

Hope this helps.

1. Overlapping just causes you to lose an action. If you are on an obstacle at the end of your move, you lose both your action and your attack.

2. Yes, an evade token cancels one hit result.

ETA: I swear there were no responses when I started typing, and by the time I was done, there are two. Ninjas!!!!

Edited by Gullwind

Thanks guys that's really helpful appreciate it :D

1. Yes, for example: If you are trying to K-turn and can't complete the turn due to an enemy, or friendly base overlapping then your ship will stop where it first makes contact with the other ships base. You will lose your action, and be unable to attack the ship who's base your touching. However, you can attack any other enemy ship within range.

2. Yes, if you take the evade action, it will only cancel one hit result. Where by using the Focus action you can change every (eye) result to an evade.

Hope this helps.

To add to #1 above. In the instance of a K-Turn. If you overlap while attempting one, you only do a red straight instead of a red 180 turn around.

If you have any rules related inquiries, just hop on over to the rules thread forum and, if it is not already answered (you can search with the teeny tiny search field at the very top of the web page) you can ask away and will usually get a quick response.

We love to help clarify the rules. Its a hobby unto itself.

You were still playing at 01:15! That's commitment :)

Could be the questions were keeping him awake.

Also, welcome and don't apologize for asking questions. The jerks are the people who commit to ignorance.

You were still playing at 01:15! That's commitment :)

Could be the questions were keeping him awake.

Also, welcome and don't apologize for asking questions. The jerks are the people who commit to ignorance.

1. Yes, for example: If you are trying to K-turn and can't complete the turn due to an enemy, or friendly base overlapping then your ship will stop where it first makes contact with the other ships base. You will lose your action, and be unable to attack the ship who's base your touching. However, you can attack any other enemy ship within range.

2. Yes, if you take the evade action, it will only cancel one hit result. Where by using the Focus action you can change every (eye) result to an evade.

Hope this helps.

To add to #1 above. In the instance of a K-Turn. If you overlap while attempting one, you only do a red straight instead of a red 180 turn around.

If you have any rules related inquiries, just hop on over to the rules thread forum and, if it is not already answered (you can search with the teeny tiny search field at the very top of the web page) you can ask away and will usually get a quick response.

We love to help clarify the rules. Its a hobby unto itself.

Haha afraid not guys, I just got back from my girlfriend's place late is all.

I'll have to relay these clarifications to her as she was intrigued too, one again you've all been really helpful :D

1. Yes, for example: If you are trying to K-turn and can't complete the turn due to an enemy, or friendly base overlapping then your ship will stop where it first makes contact with the other ships base. You will lose your action, and be unable to attack the ship who's base your touching. However, you can attack any other enemy ship within range.

This is something that popped up in a game yesterday. I plotted a k-turn that ended up resulting in an overlap, so I slid down the maneuver template into base contact and stopped there. No k-turn resulted, but my opponent insisted I still got a stress token for the red maneuver. Because I didn't actually complete the k-turn, do I still get a stress token?

Edit: Ignore that, just found the answer on page 17. Shall have to educate my opponent next game.

Edited by Parravon

I plotted a k-turn that ended up resulting in an overlap, so I slid down the maneuver template into base contact and stopped there. No k-turn resulted, but my opponent insisted I still got a stress token for the red maneuver. Because I didn't actually complete the k-turn, do I still get a stress token?

Edit: Ignore that, just found the answer on page 17. Shall have to educate my opponent next game.

Just to make sure. You did find that your opponent was correct and you DO get a stress token, right?

I plotted a k-turn that ended up resulting in an overlap, so I slid down the maneuver template into base contact and stopped there. No k-turn resulted, but my opponent insisted I still got a stress token for the red maneuver. Because I didn't actually complete the k-turn, do I still get a stress token?

Edit: Ignore that, just found the answer on page 17. Shall have to educate my opponent next game.

Just to make sure. You did find that your opponent was correct and you DO get a stress token, right?

No, rule stated it becomes a straight, so no stress token as it wasn't a red. Just can't shoot the ship I overlapped and skip action step.

Edited by Parravon

you still get a stress token. when you overlap and fail to complete the maneuver, the colour of the failed maneuver remains unchanged.

Meaning, if it was a red maneuver, you still get a stress token. If green, you get to clear your stress or repair via R2D2

Edited by Duraham

Sigh, guess it was a good thing I asked.

...with the same speed and color revealed on the dial.

Rulebook, page 17, the paragraph labeled IMPORTANT (emphasis mine)

You DO get the stress

Along those same lines, since it once confused me, the 1 straight from an ion hit is white, regardless of the color of that maneuver on your dial and an ioned ship still gets an action, unless it carried a stress token into thst turn and isn't tyco.

Sigh, guess it was a good thing I asked.

...with the same speed and color revealed on the dial.

Rulebook, page 17, the paragraph labeled IMPORTANT (emphasis mine)

You DO get the stress

The confusing thing was I assumed that the k-turn was treated as a straight maneuver FROM the dial, which for my X-Wing was white. So, the correct interpretation is my 4-speed k-turn was red but now becomes a 4-straight but still red?

And, yes it was a good thing you asked. I'm glad you did, 'cos I was after some more definitive clarification. Cheers.

The confusing thing was I assumed that the k-turn was treated as a straight maneuver FROM the dial, which for my X-Wing was white. So, the correct interpretation is my 4-speed k-turn was red but now becomes a 4-straight but still red?

And, yes it was a good thing you asked. I'm glad you did, 'cos I was after some more definitive clarification. Cheers.

Correct, the confusion is eliminated if you think of it as a k turn that doesn't get to flip the ship because ship flipping happens at the end of the template and the collision prevented you from getting there.

All the penalties, none of the fun.

The confusing thing was I assumed that the k-turn was treated as a straight maneuver FROM the dial, which for my X-Wing was white. So, the correct interpretation is my 4-speed k-turn was red but now becomes a 4-straight but still red?

And, yes it was a good thing you asked. I'm glad you did, 'cos I was after some more definitive clarification. Cheers.

Correct, the confusion is eliminated if you think of it as a k turn that doesn't get to flip the ship because ship flipping happens at the end of the template and the collision prevented you from getting there.

All the penalties, none of the fun.

Thanks Stelar, makes more sense now.

Glad I could help. If it makes for a good story all of my initial rebel lists had me trying to cram engine upgrades into x-wings because my friends and I thought there was an "action phase" after the "movement phase". Having a boost ot BR was obsenly powerful under that misunderstanding.

It's easy to read the rules and get the wrong meaning sometimes. Kind of helps when someone shows you what's supposed to happen in certain circumstances. Most of our local group are still novices at the game.