Does Hobbie's double stress work?

By Disgruntled, in X-Wing

Hobbie + Flechette Torpedo + R3-A2
At first glance, I thought this would double stress a target and leave Hobbie unstressed. But then I wondered whether spending the target lock for the torp came before officially declaring a target.

The Flechette Torpedo says: Spend your target lock and discard this card to perform this attack . . .

while the rules say that:

COMBAT PHASE
During this phase, each ship may perform one attack
against one enemy ship that is inside its firing arc
and within range. Starting with the ship with the
highest pilot skill, players resolve the following
combat steps in order:
1. Declare Target: The attacker chooses which
enemy ship he wishes to attack.
2. roll attack Dice . . .

If you have to spend the target lock to start the steps for performing an attack, that you mean you spend your target lock BEFORE Hobbie can use it to get rid of the stress from R3-A2. I'm not sure if that is the case or not.

You declare the target of your attack before you spend your target lock . Therefore the R3-A2 text triggers first.

r3-a2.png

hobbie-klivian.png

Edit: Then finally Flechette Torpedoes triggers.

Flechette-torpedoes.png

Edited by MajorJuggler

You declare the target of your attack before you spend your target lock . Therefore the R3-A2 text triggers first.

Where does it say that? I couldn't find anything that clearly states the order.

Khyros played that set up with Hobbie with good success at regionals. He will have have good insight into this subject.

You declare the target of your attack before you spend your target lock . Therefore the R3-A2 text triggers first.

Where does it say that? I couldn't find anything that clearly states the order.

How would you spend your target lock if you don't have a target yet?

You declare the target of your attack before you spend your target lock . Therefore the R3-A2 text triggers first.

Where does it say that? I couldn't find anything that clearly states the order.

You have to declare your target lock in order to attack, and you must spend the target lock to activate that particular attack. The declaration comes before the activation so that you may make sure the attack is possible according to the rules. The double stress attack definitely works with Hobbie.

You declare the target of your attack before you spend your target lock . Therefore the R3-A2 text triggers first.

Where does it say that? I couldn't find anything that clearly states the order.

Core Set Rulebook, page 10.

  1. Declare Target
  2. Roll Attack dice
  3. Modify Attack Dice
  4. Roll Defense Dice
  5. Modify Defense Dice
  6. Compare Results
  7. Deal Damage

When firing with any weapon, secondary weapon included, you must first declare your target. You can't spend a target lock to attack a target without first declaring that said ship is your declared target.

The real Question comes at what do you do as the pilot of a double stressed ship? Hobbie is a real threat to keep a ship locked down without actions until it's destruction. Forcing the ship into an endless loop of green manuvers to try and clear the stress seem hopeless. My advice is to accept the fact the ship is action less and don't ignor the white manuvers on the dial. This will keep you unpredictable and could get you out of harms way.

I got that it made sense, like I said I thought it worked at first. I was just unsure if the text of the combat steps made sense with it.

Sounds like a great combination!

Core Set Rulebook, page 10.

  1. Declare Target
  2. Roll Attack dice
  3. Modify Attack Dice
  4. Roll Defense Dice
  5. Modify Defense Dice
  6. Compare Results
  7. Deal Damage

When firing with any weapon, secondary weapon included, you must first declare your target. You can't spend a target lock to attack a target without first declaring that said ship is your declared target.

In addition to that, you declare the use of a secondary weapon during step 2 roll attack dice . That is specifically stated in the rulebook.

R3-A2 resolves during step 1 while the TL is spent during step 2. The combination works perfectly.

R3-A2 was made for Hobbie. Its almost silly to run anything else.

R3-A2 was made for Hobbie. Its almost silly to run anything else.

R2-D6 and Push the Limit are also a great choice, but more expensive. He can always focus and lock and fly away without penalty. Opportunist also, but adding more points.

Edited by Engine25

Declare target is Step 1 of the Combat phase

Choosing primary or secondary weapon happens in the Roll Attack dice which is Step 2.

P 11, rulebook

Instead of attacking with its primary weapon, the attacker may choose to use a secondary weapon Upgrade card that his ship has equipped.

ninja'd :ph34r:

Edited by Sergovan

Yup. And if you want some sort of official FAQ on it, look at DC. You can't use the blaster turret on him because of his ability, which means you've declared him as your target before you choose your weapon.

Applying to Hobbie, you declare the target (R3-A2) and then you declare the weapon (Flechette) which requires a TL to be used.

As others have said, R3-A2 happens in step 1, Flechette (and TL usage) happen in step 2. End result, any non-bomber/large ship is double stressed and Hobbie is stress free. I just figured I'd offer an example that has already been FAQ'd as further proof that it works.