Questions for the next FAQ - please post here

By Julia, in Elder Sign

This game should be called "elder questions".....

The last tip you gave, of the attack of the AO. In another post it says the order of steps at "at midnight", so if we add what you said, would be like this?

- AO effect

- adv mid eff

- monster mid eff

- mythos

And if after that AO awakens, then hi strikes? (Even if it's card eff was used first) i assume yes, becouse is stil yibb tstll midnight

Edited by hordika

There are two different things to consider:

a) the way you resolve "At Midnight effects" during normal gameplay (i.e., before Final Battle), which was clarified by Sam Bailey (the designer for Gates of Arkham) and whose answer was posted here (the thread you referred to, I imagine)

b) Final Battle. When the AO wakes up, you discard all adventures from play, and the current Mythos and all the rest, so that the answer a) is no longer valid because most of the elements touched in that answer are no longer in play. Usually the sequence for FB is:

- investigator 1 attacks / clock phase

- investigator 2 attacks / clock phase

- ...

- when Midnight strikes, the AO attacks

BUT

if the AO wakes up at Midnight, then the sequence becomes:

- AO attacks

- investigator 1 attacks / clock phase

- investigator 2 attacks / clock phase

- ...

- when Midnight strikes, the AO attacks again

Hope this clarifies your doubts ;) In case it doesn't, lemme know

So lets say:

Super Yog 9/10 dooms

Clock it is 9pm one more to 12

People 1 ends turn

- yog opens a gate

- no mid eff on cards neither little duds (monsters)

- go to mythos and says "add one doom token"

So you add it and yog is super powered up so he breaks free.

Then he attacks? (That's what i understand)

Then player 1 clock, etc and keep going (of course every 12 yog attacks others things dont happen, apart of people diying lol)

Yes, correct :)

Here's a question that I'm still not clear on, even after playing Elder Sign for so long: can a player cast more than one spell to secure dice after rolling? The rulebook and FAQ don't specify. For my personal games, I've been allowing players to cast more than one spell. What's the official ruling on this?

Edited by jeremyj621

You can cast how many spells / round you want (otherwise there will be a limit specified in the rules), so, you've been playing correctly :)

Can anyone tell me what the angel of death means on the rewards section on the card? And the new penaltyear icon as well

The Angel is a Blessing. All reward symbols used are explained in the rulebook

Thanks, I just reread the Manuel again, I don't own unseen forces, that's why. Thanks so much.

Ah, sorry, didn't know that. Generally speaking, each expansion introduces specific rewards / penalties that are explained in the expansion's rulebook. If you don't have the rules with you, you can download them from this very sire - just browse the catalogue for the game you're looking for, and under Support you'll find the pdfs.

What ever happened with the updated FAQ? Although the site says it was updated last in 2014, the doc itself appears to have last been updated in 2012 - might even be the first version? Maybe that's a sign that the rule book for Gates was well written (and I'd agree with that), but I think we could still use official clarification with some stuff from UF (edge cases like order of events with activated terror effects combined with a terror result on the curse die, etc.)

I've recently bought Elder Sign (only the base version at the moment), and after the first two games I've got a question about total and partial monster tasks. I've read both the italian and the original english manual (downloaded from the ffg website), but the answer still looks unclear to me.

What does exactly happen to the task where I place the monster, when such monster is removed (either by completing its task or by using a spell/item)? Here's what I (and my friends) thought:

Total monster task: when the monster is removed, the task beneath it no longer needs to be completed to resolve the adventure.

Example: player 1 tries to resolve an adventure with 3 task, one of which is completely covered by a monster. Player 1 completes the monster task and one of the other tasks, but fails to resolve the adventure. Player 2 decides to try to resolve the same adventure, and he only have to complete two task.

The manual says

When placing a monster marker on a total monster task, it completely covers the entire task as shown below.

Now the player must complete the task on the monster marker instead of the task it covered.

What I get from this two sentences is that since the monster replaces completely the task, when the monster is gone, there's one task less on the card.

Partial monster task: When the monster is removed, but the investigator fails to resolve the adventure, the task return to its original state. For example, if the task requires a lore and a terror result, but the terror is covered by a monster, the requirements to complete the task are those of the monster, plus the lore. Once the monster is killed, the next investigator who tries to resolve the adventure needs to complete the original task (1 lore + 1 terror).

What is the right behaviour in your opinion?

The answer you got on bgg is the correct one