Couple of questions

By The Hunter, in Talisman Rules Questions

When the Dwarf lands on the Chasm, he doesn't need to roll the die.

But if he has a follower that had to be taken (such as the Poltergeist), rolling the die and getting a 1 or 2 would be a good way to get rid of such followers.

If he chooses to do this, can the Dwarf still choose who to roll the die for, or if he chooses to roll the die for one follower, he will also have to roll for himself and any other followers?

During one game, the Boatman and Demigod were drawn (on seperate turns) which got me thinking.

If you encounter the card, and choose not to accept their offer, or unable to accept it (no gold for the Boatman, not enough craft to gain a spell from the Demigod), do they remain on the board until someone accepts their offer, or do they get discarded straight away?

You encounter space instructions in their entirety, so yup the Dwarf rolls for himself and all his followers.

Events are always discarded when they are encountered, regardless of the outcome, unless

a) the effect lasts for multiple turns (leave on space until effect finishes), or

b) you skipped encountering the card, for example by missing a turn or moving away due to an effect of a different card encountered first in the sequence.

Thanks.

Had a feeling this would be the case concerning the Dwarf and Boatman.

However, the Demigod is a Stranger. Would he remain on the board until someone gains a spell?

Thanks.

Had a feeling this would be the case concerning the Dwarf and Boatman.

However, the Demigod is a Stranger. Would he remain on the board until someone gains a spell?

Probably he should, as most Strangers remain on the board unless the condition to discard them is triggered.

But what makes you discard the Demigod? The fact that you gain a Spell from him or does he grant you this wonderful opportunity only once, and fades away even if you cannot take the Spell?

The card is oddly worded and for me it deserves a small FAQ entry.

But as a general rule, Events get always discarded after encountering them, while Strangers may be discarded only in certain circumstances described in the card.