So, the new FAQ on pg. 2 corrects the wording of the Proximity Mines upgrade card from this:
"When a ship executes a
...to this:
So, the new FAQ on pg. 2 corrects the wording of the Proximity Mines upgrade card from this:
"When a ship executes a
...to this:
The only thing that I can think of is that the rewording of the card now allows for detonation when a boost or barrel roll is performed.
This is it exactly. The previous FAQ had a ruling which said this directly, but it basically contradicted the card. They finally errata'ed the card to match what the ruling said it should do.
If I had to guess, I'd say that they updated it to remove questions on the Phantom's moves. Which is interesting - usually this sort of repositioning move is a sort of "Ha, I wasn't where you thought I was!" and doesn't necessarily represent actually jumping to the side. But in this case, you can set off a mine between where I thought you were and where you actually were. Funny mental image, that.
Cool. Thanks.
The problem with the new update is that it actually removes the ability to play the card since it is no longer an action to use there is no way to drop it now
Heh. I expect it should say "The second sentence should read", but you're right that it's a bit of a glitch. I think we can figure it out, though.
I had a situation where I had moved a ship, then my opponent moved and dropped a proximity mine right on the ship so the base overlapped the mine. Under the old rules the proximity mine would not explode because my ship had already moved, on top of that my maneuver template would not have crossed the mine on the next turn, still avoiding the detonation. The new rule seems to fix that as well so now the proximity mine would detonate because the criteria is more easily met.
I had a situation where I had moved a ship, then my opponent moved and dropped a proximity mine right on the ship so the base overlapped the mine. Under the old rules the proximity mine would not explode because my ship had already moved, on top of that my maneuver template would not have crossed the mine on the next turn, still avoiding the detonation. The new rule seems to fix that as well so now the proximity mine would detonate because the criteria is more easily met.
I have no hard evidence to back this position up, and I'm sure someone will argue against it, but this is what feels right to me - and it adheres to both the new card text and the cited FAQ ruling.
Edited by ziggy2000
Q: If a ship is already overlapping an obstacle or proximity mine token, does it suffer the effects of that token when it executes its next maneuver?
A: Possibly. When it executes its next maneuver, if the maneuver template or the ship’s final position overlaps the token, the ship hits the token and suffers the effects. Otherwise, the ship doesn’t suffer any of the token’s effects because it was only overlapping in its original position, and the original position is ignored for obstacle and proximity mine tokens.
Same as it always was.
How much damage does the PM do?
How much damage does the PM do?
Roll 3 attack dice, and suffer any damage rolled this way.
How much damage does the PM do?
Roll 3 attack dice, and suffer any damage rolled this way.
There are no defense dice as it is not an attack. And damage goes against shields first.
Is it legal to drop proximity mines (or other bombs) so that the tokens overlap? I am thinking about dropping a pile of 3 proximity mines on the exit corner for the GR-75 in the Evacuation of Hoth Mission 1.
Interesting this coming up. I didn't realize, but if I drop a proximity mine onto a ship, it immediately detonates, not waiting for the next move. I didn't realize this.
Is it legal to drop proximity mines (or other bombs) so that the tokens overlap? I am thinking about dropping a pile of 3 proximity mines on the exit corner for the GR-75 in the Evacuation of Hoth Mission 1.
This works just fine.
Thanks. I realized today, however, that I didn't read the scenario carefully enough. In H1, it says that the transport has to exit the map with one portion still in the play area at range 1-2. I was thinking it had to be WITHIN range 2, but that's not the case. If any part of the GR-75's base is at range 2, it's legal. So, it has more room to get off the map than I thought. I knew the mine idea was too good to be true. I think I can still force it to run over one, but not 3.