Spice Visions and Protect

By Budgernaut, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Rules Questions

I want to make sure I have this right. If Zuckuss is the target of a tactics icon, can I play Spice Visions to convert the focus to a damage and then transfer it to Emperor's Royal Guard via Protect?

My understanding is that Spice Visions does not change where the damage is coming from, it is just changing it to a damage instead of a focus, so Protect should still work.

Yes? No?

I initial though is yes. Sounds good. Correct me if I'm wrong but protection is something like "when damage is dealt to to protected unit place the damage on this unit instead" something like that.... If is was shielding then no because you are initiating it yourself and a shield token can not be removed.

I initial though is yes. Sounds good. Correct me if I'm wrong but protection is something like "when damage is dealt to to protected unit place the damage on this unit instead" something like that.... If is was shielding then no because you are initiating it yourself and a shield token can not be removed.

Right, though if the Zuckuss had a shield he could just use that to stop the tactics in the first place.

I initial though is yes. Sounds good. Correct me if I'm wrong but protection is something like "when damage is dealt to to protected unit place the damage on this unit instead" something like that.... If is was shielding then no because you are initiating it yourself and a shield token can not be removed.

I thought you could only use Protect if the damage was coming from an enemy effect or resolution of combat icons.

EDIT: Wow, I was wrong about that. The rulebook doesn't mention anything about enemy effects. I guess I had shields mixed up with Protect.

Edited by Budgernaut

I initial though is yes. Sounds good. Correct me if I'm wrong but protection is something like "when damage is dealt to to protected unit place the damage on this unit instead" something like that.... If is was shielding then no because you are initiating it yourself and a shield token can not be removed.

Right, though if the Zuckuss had a shield he could just use that to stop the tactics in the first place.

True. And yes you can only use protect from damage. I was pointing out earlier that if you caused damage to your own unit (spice visions) then in that case you can not remove a shield. Protect is merely redirecting someone else's damage to say 'Guardian of the Peace'. She has shielding and protect. You could remove the shield in that case. Sound right?

Edited by CooMasterCoo

I think we're on the same page:

Protect can redirect damage, regardless of the source.

Shield tokens can be used only against damage from an opponent.

Perfect.