Duplicate crits

By Keoki, in X-Wing

I apologize in advance if this question has already been answered - I was unable to find the answer online, nor was it really addressed in the FAQ.

The FAQ states that the effect of Blinded Pilot is not cumulative; that is, a ship with two such crits on it can get rid of both of them with only one attack.

What about other crits? For example...

Weapon Malfunction: If a ship gets two of these, does it reduce its primary weapon value by 2, or just 1?

Stunned Pilot: If a ship gets two of these, does it take a damage from each one when it overlaps, or is it limited to one damage?

If you have multiples of a crit that can be repaired by an action as described on the card, does the action get rid of all the identical crits, or is it one by one?

Thanks in advance! If you can provide any reference for your answers, they would be appreciated.

The actions only get rid of one. They are cumulative. Blinded pilot is the exception due to a quirk in its wording.

Not so much a quirk in the wording, it is just that blinded pilot is removed by a condition being met, not an action. Any crit that triggers by a condition being met (like the one that gives you a damage if you overlap a ship/obstacle) also would happen twice when that condition is met if you have both of those crits. For the ones that require an action you are choosing a single crit card and performing the action on that card. Since it only applies to that one card it would only flip that one card.

Basically, the duplicate crits do not know about each other. Both resolve without reference to the other one.

Weapon Malfunction: If a ship gets two of these, does it reduce its primary weapon value by 2, or just 1?

Reduction by 2.

Stunned Pilot: If a ship gets two of these, does it take a damage from each one when it overlaps, or is it limited to one damage?

It takes damage from each.

If you have multiples of a crit that can be repaired by an action as described on the card, does the action get rid of all the identical crits, or is it one by one?

One by one. Note: You cannot perform the same action more than once per round. If you have several actions (like PTL) you cannot even try to repair two identical crits in the same round. And you cannot attempt to repair one crit twice in one round.

Not so much a quirk in the wording, it is just that blinded pilot is removed by a condition being met, not an action. Any crit that triggers by a condition being met (like the one that gives you a damage if you overlap a ship/obstacle) also would happen twice when that condition is met if you have both of those crits. For the ones that require an action you are choosing a single crit card and performing the action on that card. Since it only applies to that one card it would only flip that one card.

Makes sense that you can't be "double blinded."

Edited by Keoki

Basically, the duplicate crits do not know about each other. Both resolve without reference to the other one.

Weapon Malfunction: If a ship gets two of these, does it reduce its primary weapon value by 2, or just 1?

Reduction by 2.

Stunned Pilot: If a ship gets two of these, does it take a damage from each one when it overlaps, or is it limited to one damage?

It takes damage from each.

If you have multiples of a crit that can be repaired by an action as described on the card, does the action get rid of all the identical crits, or is it one by one?

One by one. Note: You cannot perform the same action more than once per round. If you have several actions (like PTL) you cannot even try to repair two identical crits in the same round. And you cannot attempt to repair one crit twice in one round.

Good. This is the way I've been interpreting things. Do you know if there's any reference available from the designers for this clarification?

Edited by Keoki

Two questions from the latest FAQ apply. At least partially:

Q: Can a ship perform the same Upgrade card action or Damage card action more than once per round?
A: No. Having more than one copy of the same card that requires an action to trigger its ability does not allow you to perform that action more than once per round.

Q: If a ship has more than one copy of the same card that does not require an action to trigger its ability, can it trigger all of those card abilities?
A: Yes. For example, when a ship equipped with two Mercenary Copilots is attacking, it can change two (hit) results to two (crit) results.

Damage cards always trigger. The effect is not optional. Other than that the last question works for damage cards.

Edited by dvor