Ok, so here's my question:
Lieutenant Blount always hits. Thus if he fires Ion Pulse Missiles, does anyone really need to roll dice, or can we just deal a damage and place the tokens on the defending ship?
Ok, so here's my question:
Lieutenant Blount always hits. Thus if he fires Ion Pulse Missiles, does anyone really need to roll dice, or can we just deal a damage and place the tokens on the defending ship?
Hmm...
No?
"If this attack hits..."
No.
Edited by catachan23Post removed because I brain derped.
Edited by Drakhan ValaneHmm...
No?
"If this attack hits..."
No.
Not sure about this. If he's firing his lasers and rolls blanks, they hit but do no damage, but when teamed up with Ion pulse missiles, it does appear to be an automatic damage card and 2 ion tokens. Am I reading this wrong? How do the defender's dice factor in with the pilot ability?
Still per the rulebook as the steps required for an attack dice would have to be rolled. If for nothing else but to please the rulebook gods.
It matters. There are abilities that key off of cancelling dice (Kath Scarlet, for example).
Agreed.
If there are abilities present on the board that would be effected by a die result then of course you should roll the dice.
But if not, then dont bother. Maybe I am too "Fly Causal" but when my opponent attacks and rolls all blanks, I don't roll my evades because its not necessary (he didn't hit me) and I don't feel the need to rub it in. He is already disapointed enough and seeing that not only did he wiff his shot entirely, but I just rolled all evades and seeing that Soontir Fel is giving him "the bird" out the window as he zips away just adds salt to the wound.
We disregard any pilot skills and any other abilities not present on the board because they are not relevent.
Edited by catachan23It matters. There are abilities that key off of cancelling dice (Kath Scarlet, for example).
Curious exactly how Kath's ability could affect whether you need to roll while Blount is firing a missile?
If there's an ability that can trigger from the roll in any way, then of course you roll it. If not, there's no reason to bother. If someone drops 3 hits from an ion cannon on my X-wing or B-wing, I don't bother to roll - just take the token and damage and get on with the game.
And as far as I can think at the moment, there aren't any abilities where this could matter for Blount. That could change, of course, but for now there's no point.
interesting question i guess this blount will have a HUUUUUUGE ERATA FAQ
just for the do i have to roll and does he everytime hit even if my enemy evaded with all dices ?
i dont get his ability maybe i just wait for the german version to get clarified about his *i do hit everytime no matter what ability*
interesting question i guess this blount will have a HUUUUUUGE ERATA FAQ
just for the do i have to roll and does he everytime hit even if my enemy evaded with all dices ?
i dont get his ability maybe i just wait for the german version to get clarified about his *i do hit everytime no matter what ability*
His card does say that he hits the defender even if he deals no damage, so even if you roll all evades and he rolls no hits he still counts as hitting his target.
That means that regardless of how may evade you might roll, any card/upgrade/ability that requires the target being hit (meaning post any modifications eg. green dice/tokens/abilities) would then be activated.
So, the OP asked if you need to roll any dice if Lt. Blount fires an Ion Pulse Missile and it says:
"If this attack hits..."
Lt. Blount always counts as having hit, regardless of how many red dice he rolls or the results of the red/green dice being rolled, his target will always suffer 1 damage and recieve 2 Ion Tokens when he fires an Ion Pulse Missile.
when my opponent attacks and rolls all blanks, I don't roll my evades because its not necessary
<cheeky_sarcasm_font> Also, it is quite important not to risk a good evade roll in case you might need it later in the game. THE DICE REMEMBER. Probability works like that. </cheeky_sarcasm_font>
Note to self: Remember to create cheeky_sarcasm_font.
when my opponent attacks and rolls all blanks, I don't roll my evades because its not necessary
THE DICE REMEMBER.
</cheeky_sarcasm_font>
They DO remember, they ALWAYS remember!
Each die only has a limited number of evade results you will ever roll so you wouldn't wanna waste em!
</cheeky_sarcasm_font>
I used your </cheeky_sarcasm_font> Nematode. Thanks for creating that, it was very helpful!
Yes, Ion Pulse Missiles will go off. Tellingly, so will Assault Missiles.
Hmm. Blount + IPM seems to be a brilliant Anti-Phantom...
interesting question i guess this blount will have a HUUUUUUGE ERATA FAQ
just for the do i have to roll and does he everytime hit even if my enemy evaded with all dices ?
i dont get his ability maybe i just wait for the german version to get clarified about his *i do hit everytime no matter what ability*
Why would he need an FAQ? How the ability functions in the game is completely obvious. As is whether you need to roll dice - technically, you do. If you and your opponent choose to bypass the pointless roll, that's an agreement between the two to speed up the game. But if someone insists on rolling the dice, they are technically correct.
There really isn't any question or uncertainty about how he works.
Gonna agree with Buhallin.
You don't need to roll the dice in this case, there's nothing you really gain or lose by doing so. There's no effect that should go into effect based on the attack dice rolled.
And was said above, you don't want to use up good rolls when they don't matter.
There is also as far as I can see no need for a FAQ in this case. Technically you should roll the dice regardless of if they have any effect. I can't see FFG putting in a FAQ that says you don't really need to roll the dice, because at some point there may be an effect that does matter.
interesting question i guess this blount will have a HUUUUUUGE ERATA FAQ
just for the do i have to roll and does he everytime hit even if my enemy evaded with all dices ?
i dont get his ability maybe i just wait for the german version to get clarified about his *i do hit everytime no matter what ability*
Why would he need an FAQ? How the ability functions in the game is completely obvious. As is whether you need to roll dice - technically, you do. If you and your opponent choose to bypass the pointless roll, that's an agreement between the two to speed up the game. But if someone insists on rolling the dice, they are technically correct .
There really isn't any question or uncertainty about how he works.
Which is the best kind of correct.
Gonna agree with Buhallin.You don't need to roll the dice in this case, there's nothing you really gain or lose by doing so. There's no effect that should go into effect based on the attack dice rolled.And was said above, you don't want to use up good rolls when they don't matter. :)There is also as far as I can see no need for a FAQ in this case. Technically you should roll the dice regardless of if they have any effect. I can't see FFG putting in a FAQ that says you don't really need to roll the dice, because at some point there may be an effect that does matter.
Aka. The normal damage dealt with Assault Missiles.
Gonna agree with Buhallin.You don't need to roll the dice in this case, there's nothing you really gain or lose by doing so. There's no effect that should go into effect based on the attack dice rolled.And was said above, you don't want to use up good rolls when they don't matter. :)There is also as far as I can see no need for a FAQ in this case. Technically you should roll the dice regardless of if they have any effect. I can't see FFG putting in a FAQ that says you don't really need to roll the dice, because at some point there may be an effect that does matter.
Aka. The normal damage dealt with Assault Missiles.
Not sure what this means. What does Assault Missile damage have to do with the dice?
Gonna agree with Buhallin.You don't need to roll the dice in this case, there's nothing you really gain or lose by doing so. There's no effect that should go into effect based on the attack dice rolled.And was said above, you don't want to use up good rolls when they don't matter. :)There is also as far as I can see no need for a FAQ in this case. Technically you should roll the dice regardless of if they have any effect. I can't see FFG putting in a FAQ that says you don't really need to roll the dice, because at some point there may be an effect that does matter.
Aka. The normal damage dealt with Assault Missiles.
Not sure what this means. What does Assault Missile damage have to do with the dice?
You need to roll for the missile's damage to the primary target, but everything at range 1 of it automatically take the damage because the missile has 'hit' the target weather or not it actually takes damage
Gonna agree with Buhallin.You don't need to roll the dice in this case, there's nothing you really gain or lose by doing so. There's no effect that should go into effect based on the attack dice rolled.And was said above, you don't want to use up good rolls when they don't matter. :)There is also as far as I can see no need for a FAQ in this case. Technically you should roll the dice regardless of if they have any effect. I can't see FFG putting in a FAQ that says you don't really need to roll the dice, because at some point there may be an effect that does matter.
Aka. The normal damage dealt with Assault Missiles.
Not sure what this means. What does Assault Missile damage have to do with the dice?
You need to roll for the missile's damage to the primary target, but everything at range 1 of it automatically take the damage because the missile has 'hit' the target weather or not it actually takes damage
Ah, I see what he was getting at now. We were focused on triggered effects and my brain wasn't in "normal damage" mode.
But honestly, if you as an attacker wanted to skip rolling your attack dice with Blount and just auto-trigger the splash, I'd probably be fine with it
Blount - The anti-swarm.
He's also going to make running a Stealth Device pretty much a waste of points if you happen to be against him and can't kill him first.
Edited by Jo JoKeep in mind that per the FAQ you can't choose NOT to roll green dice if you have them. So technically you can't skip the step, but in a friendly game where you know no effects rely on them you could skip it.
It matters. There are abilities that key off of cancelling dice (Kath Scarlet, for example).
Curious exactly how Kath's ability could affect whether you need to roll while Blount is firing a missile?
If there's an ability that can trigger from the roll in any way, then of course you roll it. If not, there's no reason to bother. If someone drops 3 hits from an ion cannon on my X-wing or B-wing, I don't bother to roll - just take the token and damage and get on with the game.
And as far as I can think at the moment, there aren't any abilities where this could matter for Blount. That could change, of course, but for now there's no point.
The closest I can think of it this:
But even that ability still doesn't trigger off of
re
rolling dice, it triggers from the original attack declaration.
Keep in mind that per the FAQ you can't choose NOT to roll green dice if you have them. So technically you can't skip the step, but in a friendly game where you know no effects rely on them you could skip it.
Honestly, even in a competitive game I wouldn't bother to roll them--specifically because, in this case and at the moment, they can't be relevant to the outcome of the attack.
In line with Tarn is the R7, but that doesn't do it either, because of course anything that screws with the attack dice needs to resolve.