Reg. responses to passive strength reduction, or: The Brazen Beasts & Aegon

By loffenx, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Hi, I have a question regarding the Brazen Beasts (Response: After an opponent's character's STR is reduced to 0, The Brazen Beasts claim 1 power. (Limit once per phase)) and passive STR-reducers such as Aegon Targaryen (Non-Dragon characters without attachments get -1 STR) or Threath from the North.

If it is marshalling phase, player A has Aegon & Brazen in play and player B plays a 1STR charachter, can Brazen trigger and claim one power? (In response to the 1STR charachter immediatly beeing reduced to 0 one it has entered play).

Still marshalling, but now A plays Aegon while the 1STR is already on the board. Can Brazen trigger here aswell? Or when Threath is revealed?

Any input appreciated.

I think either scenario works, it is still reduced as a negative is applied to their STR, so you would be able to trigger the Beat's response. Remember that they are once per phase, so you would need to find ways of reducing a character's STR each phase to really capitalize on their ability.

Also note that as a response ability, you can only trigger the beasts in the window that the STR reduction is applied.

I remember reading about it, but I don't recall the outcome. If you use a STR reducing effect on a character that is already zero, can you trigger cards like the Crone or the Beast?

Also note that as a response ability, you can only trigger the beasts in the window that the STR reduction is applied.

This is absolutely correct. You can trigger Brazen Beasts as a Response in any action window where a new "-X STR" modifier is applied, which causes a change in the character's effective STR, leaving it at 0.

I remember reading about it, but I don't recall the outcome. If you use a STR reducing effect on a character that is already zero, can you trigger cards like the Crone or the Beast?

No, you cannot. If the character is already at 0 effective STR when the new "-X STR" modifier is applied, then the new reduction did not bring the character "to 0," so the play restrictions are not met. You successfully reduce the character's STR, but not "to 0"- since it was already there.

Thanks for the replies! It was as I guessed, but well I always get a bit uncertain when "reactions" to passives and stuff are thrown into the mix.