Annexing the Sheriff's office question.

By Allevil669, in Deadwood

First, I sure hope that this forum isn't dead.

Second, I have a question about annexing the Sheriff's office. One of my players insists that when he moves the sheriff, he's allowed to simply place the sheriff back where he was.

The rest of us disagree, with the argument that the rules say: "When a player annexes the Sheriff ’s Office, he moves the Sheriff token to any intersection of three plots on the board." and that placing the Sheriff back where he was isn't "moving" him.

Anyone have a official or semi-official ruling on this?

Annexing a building is optional, so he doesn't have to move him at all

I have always played that you can leave him where he is if that is what you want.