a pair of questions

By edderkoppen, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

While mulling over the cards and rules:

1) The duplicate rules states that you can save a character from a response that either kills, discards, returns to hand etc. the unique card in question, by discarding the duplicate. My reading of this is, that you cannot use duplicates to save characters from say Valar Morghulis, or Military claim. Can this be right? I was of the thought that the duplicates could save the character under any circumstances.

2) Some cards refer to certain types of plot cards (ie. To Be a Kraken). How are these defined on the plot cards themselves. Does the Mutual Blackmail plot have the Intrigue Gambit trait because of the Intrigue Gambit icon presented in it's game text? Or does it have to be a bolded keyword in the start?

cheers,

/c

edderkoppen said:

1) The duplicate rules states that you can save a character from a response that either kills, discards, returns to hand etc. the unique card in question, by discarding the duplicate. My reading of this is, that you cannot use duplicates to save characters from say Valar Morghulis, or Military claim. Can this be right? I was of the thought that the duplicates could save the character under any circumstances.

Um... I'm not sure it says that. The rules say:

"If one of your unique cards is about to be killed, discarded from play, or returned to your hand or deck, as a triggered “Response:” effect (see later), you may discard an attached duplicate to save the unique card from being killed, discarded, or returned to your hand or deck."

I think you're reading that as being able to save from a triggered "Response," not being able to save as a triggered "Response." So the bit about "as a triggered Response" is telling you the kind of timing involved in using the duplicate as a save, not restricting the things it can save from.

You can use duplicates to save under any circumstances.

edderkoppen said:

2) Some cards refer to certain types of plot cards (ie. To Be a Kraken). How are these defined on the plot cards themselves. Does the Mutual Blackmail plot have the Intrigue Gambit trait because of the Intrigue Gambit icon presented in it's game text? Or does it have to be a bolded keyword in the start?

"Intrigue Gambit," "Military Battle" and "Power Struggle" are bolded traits (not keywords; there is a big difference) found on some plot cards. They look like the "Others" trait on the plot card "Fleeing to the Wall.

There are precious few plots with these traits in the LCG right now. Most are out of the "Ancient Enemies" chapter pack released before the Core Set. FFG has promised more of them in the Greyjoy expansion set for July release.

Indeed, you're right on the save/response. I can see the difference now that it's put up. Thanks for the clarification. With english not being native, I guess that's the kind of slips you make :)

Also, "Intrigue Gambit" and the eye icon are not the same thing even on a plot card. The eye icon represents Intrigue challenges or the ability to participate in an Intrigue challenge.