Decloaking spoiled

By Rhinoviru3, in X-Wing

Sorry if this has been said before, but:

10003894_10153974092275177_1014872232_n.

Edit: my source was the X-Wing FB page

Edited by Rhinoviru3

Apologies for double-post, but!

988418_10153974105610177_1525452844_n.jp

Decloaking is going to be nasty in the hands of a skilled pilot!

Edited by Dagonet

That decloak sounds awesome. Super maneuverable.

So to decloak you have to be able to make a 2-> move or a 2-> barrel roll? eh?

And afterwards it launches the maneuver on the maneuver dial, too?

Cloaking, the ship is still visible but opponents sensors are screwy; However, it seems you can still target lock a cloaked ship.


Edit: my source was the X-Wing FB page

Nice grab.

Is this from the fan page for X-Wing or the FFG's Facebook page?

Edited by LordCole

Interesting that the decloaking 'move' is compulsory; you can never be exactly where someone thinks you are.

A speed 2 shift in pretty much any direction before you manouvre is going to be nasty.

Especially since the Phantom still has its action (admittedly it can't barrel roll again if you pick that). Imagine this monster with an engine upgrade and a navigator in the crew slot...

More interesting is that if you can stress a Phantom, you can 'lock' it in cloak until it can shed the stress - although you can still perform actions whilst cloaked.

Ultimately, it's interesting but even with two extra evade dice I still suspect the Phantom is slightly made of wafers. Turn 1, cloak, turn 2 evade and manouvre, turn 3, decloak, free manouvre, focus and unload a 4-5 die primary attack.....then explode as someone else shoots you. I can see why advanced cloaks are going to be worth quite a bit.

Standard TIE Fighter rules of "evade actions uber alles" I think.

So cloaking, the ship is still visible just that opponents sensor are screwy; However, it seems you can still target lock a cloaked ship.

Indeed. Fletchette 'Depth Charging' a phantom coming up the flanks to stop it decloaking for a turn may be a nice trick.

Edited by Magnus Grendel

Only +2 agility while cloaked with 2 basic agility and 4 THP makes them incredibly fragile for their cost though. Using Phantoms seems to continue following the usual "high risk, high reward" gameplay method we've seen FFG give the Empire so far.

So to decloak you have to be able to make a 2-> move or a 2-> barrel roll? eh?

And afterwards it launches the maneuver on the maneuver dial, too?

Yup. I wonder if this might mean that the Phantom has a full stop maneuver like the shuttle to ensure you don't get run off the board.

I seriously cannot wait to fly this ship. It's unpredictability and high maneuverability make it a potentially lethal vessel in the hands of a skilled pilot.

All I want now is the dial!

Only +2 agility while cloaked with 2 basic agility and 4 THP makes them incredibly fragile for their cost though. Using Phantoms seems to continue following the usual "high risk, high reward" gameplay method we've seen FFG give the Empire so far.

Well, that's consistant with the Phantoms from.....was it Rogue Squadron or Rebel Assault? Bloody impossible to hit as they keep popping in and out of clock, but if you actually got your nose round in time to put a decent burst into them they came apart as easily as a standard TIE.

.

Especially since the Phantom still has its action (admittedly it can't barrel roll again if you pick that). Imagine this monster with an engine upgrade and a navigator in the crew slot...

More interesting is that if you can stress a Phantom, you can 'lock' it in cloak until it can shed the stress - although you can still perform actions whilst cloaked.

The card spefically states that you can decloak while stressed and that the movement (barrel roll or straight) is an effect. It does not say " perform a free barrel roll action". I don't think keeping it stressed will stop it from decloaking.

Edited by Dagonet

So to decloak you have to be able to make a 2-> move or a 2-> barrel roll? eh?

And afterwards it launches the maneuver on the maneuver dial, too?

Represents "after image".

Your sensors think the ship is in that previous location, hence the +2 Agility while cloaked.

More interesting is that if you can stress a Phantom, you can 'lock' it in cloak until it can shed the stress - although you can still perform actions whilst cloaked.

Your mind played tricks on you there, the card says a Phantom can decloak while it has stress.

Edited by keroko

More interesting is that if you can stress a Phantom, you can 'lock' it in cloak until it can shed the stress - although you can still perform actions whilst cloaked.

...

Indeed. Fletchette 'Depth Charging' a phantom coming up the flanks to stop it decloaking for a turn may be a nice trick.

Ehm... No... The card precisely says that you CAN decloak even while having stress.

For all purposes, decloaking is not an action by itself. And the extra movement granted by decloaking isn't considered an action either, if we follow the literal reading.

Multininjaed!!!! So many ninjas decloaking!!!!

Edited by Jehan Menasis

Well, it can't decloak while ionized.. ;)

More interesting is that if you can stress a Phantom, you can 'lock' it in cloak until it can shed the stress - although you can still perform actions whilst cloaked.

...

Indeed. Fletchette 'Depth Charging' a phantom coming up the flanks to stop it decloaking for a turn may be a nice trick.

Ehm... No... The card precisely says that you CAN decloak even while having stress.

For all purposes, decloaking is not an action by itself. And the extra movement granted by decloaking isn't considered an action either, if we follow the literal reading.

Multininjaed!!!! So many ninjas decloaking!!!!

2 Maneuvers on forums, wat :L

Excellent! Perhaps more info regarding the Phantom is on it's way then!

Edited by Rhinoviru3

Well, it can't decloak while ionized.. ;)

Why not? Being Ionized A) Doesn't stop actions. B) The decloaking and 2-> movement isn't an action or any other keyword...

I can't see why an ionized Phantom, can't Barrel Roll 2-> then Decloak, then be forced to move the ionized 1->, then perform an action (or 2 if it can have PtL).

What am I missing that would cause this not to be able to be done?

Cheers

[EDIT] - OH?!?! I see now, I think.... When Ionized, you do not assign a Manoeuvre Dial. If no dial is assigned, one can't decloak? Am I correct? [/EDIT]

Edited by DarkFather

More interesting is that if you can stress a Phantom, you can 'lock' it in cloak until it can shed the stress - although you can still perform actions whilst cloaked.

So cloaking, the ship is still visible just that opponents sensor are screwy; However, it seems you can still target lock a cloaked ship.

Indeed. Fletchette 'Depth Charging' a phantom coming up the flanks to stop it decloaking for a turn may be a nice trick.

Fixed -> ( slow it down )

Although we will be able to stress the Phantom, we wont be able to lock it in cloak, but that is okay.

Consider a shot from an ion turret, come out of cloak only to drift into an asteroid or off board.


Dagonet and keroko beat me to it.

Well, it can't decloak while ionized.. ;)

Why not? Being Ionized A) Doesn't stop actions. B) The decloaking and 2-> movement isn't an action or any other keyword...

I can't see why an ionized Phantom, can't Barrel Roll 2-> then Decloak, then be forced to move the ionized 1->, then perform an action (or 2 if it can have PtL).

What am I missing that would cause this not to be able to be done?

Cheers

the part where it says 'immediately before revealing your movement dial.' when Ionized you don't reveal a dial, as you do not assign one that turn, just perform a 1 straight.

Multininjaed!!!! So many ninjas decloaking!!!!

Seriously, that happened.

...and apparently I can't read. No, you can't. Fair enough.

If you come out of cloak and go off the board or hit something, even if ionised, you probably have only yourself to blame, since you had a choice of 3 positions to start your 1 straight manouvre from.

Edited by Magnus Grendel

Well, it can't decloak while ionized.. ;)

Why not? Being Ionized A) Doesn't stop actions. B) The decloaking and 2-> movement isn't an action or any other keyword...

I can't see why an ionized Phantom, can't Barrel Roll 2-> then Decloak, then be forced to move the ionized 1->, then perform an action (or 2 if it can have PtL).

What am I missing that would cause this not to be able to be done?

Cheers

FAQ page 3:

Q:
If a ship does not have a dial assigned to it when it activates during the Activation phase, can it resolve any effects that refer to its maneuver dial?
A:
No. For example, a HWK-290 with an ion token cannot use the effect of Navigator to change the speed of its maneuver.

The whole, "cannot decloak if you cannot perform the 2fwd/roll" means there is blocking counterplay, which is nice!

I can't wait to bust this ship out. Intel agent and Navigator will probably be fun for this ship!

Also, imagine being in a bad position, decloaking, rolling to as far out of arc as possible, perform maneuver, re cloaking, and move into an even BETTER position next turn. This could be epic. Also to note, you can pre cloak one turn, then next turn perform K Turn, then decloak, letting you do the 2 Maneuver before a normal maneuever.